Womb With a View

Every now and then — and it doesn't happen often enough — I come across something of such extraordinary magnificence that I am completely humbled by it. Something so amazing, so wonderful, that I am immediately touched at the deepest emotional level. I feel it in my chest. You been there?

I found something of this nature today and I'd like to share it with you. I fully admit to being a tad more sensitive than the average middle-aged American male, but even so I do believe this will touch you, too.

The first remarkable close-up pictures of animals in the womb

An unborn elephant, tiny but perfect in every way. A dolphin swimming in the womb, just as it will have to swim in the ocean the moment it is born. An unborn dog panting. Each one amazing and now, thanks to these remarkable pictures, they can be seen for the first time…

Using a combination of three-dimensional ultrasound scans, computer graphics and tiny cameras, the team were able to show the entire process from conception to birth.

READ FULL STORY

See? See what I mean? Aren't you just blown away!?

Read and post comments

About kirkstarr

I draw pictures for a living.
This entry was posted in Can I Say Something? and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Womb With a View

  1. Lauri says:

    Literally breathtaking. The tiny elephant made me gasp. Miraculous!

  2. Amanda says:

    That's incredible! Thank you for sharing those with us.

  3. Myke says:

    There's certainly nothing wrong with males being emotional. Once in a while I will actually be in the mood to put in a "chic flick" just to get that dose of heart warming serum. I recently had a new baby of my own and that is probably the most incredible experience I have ever been through. There was this moment or peak of emotion that I felt right as Ava was taken completely out of her mother that left me in awe. When you see your creation held up by the doctor a sudden urge to cry chokes you and the world stops turning because nothing else matters. It was amazingly surreal. It's not easy to realize the importance of life until you create it.

  4. Indy Bunny says:

    [gasp of amazement] Wow. Really: Wow. Thank you so much for sharing.

  5. Dancing Bear says:

    Life is so precious. It begins so delicately and gracefully. Then the real dance begins. Bless the beasts and the children. I look at them as one in the same. If I have no compassion for one then how can I for the other. Precious innocence. It must be looked after in a custodial way. There are so many who cannot defend or protect themselves. How amazing life is. Nothing is more amazing than life at it's beginning. Like a blank canvas. The elephant is just as graceful as a swan. I visit the Maternity Ward in my hospital every day and get to share in so much happiness and joy. Science is magnificent. Can you imagine what we are able to see that people several years ago were not even priviledged to see. We live better than Kings and Queens from the Ancient world and we take so much for granted. How lucky we are to see things like this. When you do I guarantee you will never look at a pregnant woman the same again. You know what is going on inside. Thanks again.

  6. devonrex says:

    that is truly awesome, but I have to admit, i'm kind of freaked out by those pictures. nature at work: beautiful, and freaky.

  7. Matthew 25 says:

    Great photos…thanks for posting.

  8. Bizz says:

    wow! I really am blown away! that is really awesome! before I came back out to school i work at an OBGYN office and we had magazines where it showed the baby growng in the womb and its progress every month. i had never before heard of this with animals. this is one way that shows how awesome technology can be. thanks. that was really cool.

  9. Jen says:

    I am blown away, that's amazing. Technology is coming so far, and
    actually being able to see something like that is so heartwarming.

Leave a Reply

