One Word

I once saw a documentary in which John Lennon was recounting the day he met Yoko Ono in 1966. He said he had stopped into the Indica art gallery and noticed that one particular art piece, entitled Ceiling Painting, appeared to consist of nothing more than a white stepladder and a suspended magnifying glass. Lennon describes how he climbed the ladder and, using the magnifying glass, read a single word painted in tiny letters on the ceiling: the word “YES”.

He goes on to describe how that experience made him feel. He recounts how that single positive word is what caused him to stick around:

“If it had said ‘no’ or something nasty… like ‘rip-off’ or whatever, I would have left the gallery… but because it was positive, it said, ‘YES’,  I thought, ‘This is the first show I've been to that said something warm to me.’  Then I decided to see the rest of the show and that's when we met.”

I had a similar experience today. I received a notification that someone known as JustMarie had added me to her neighborhood here at VOX. As I’m prone to do when I receive such a message and have the time, I bounced over to JustMarie’s VOX to see if she would be someone whose blog I’d want to follow.

Ordinarily, I read a random sampling of posts as well as the person’s profile in order to determine the likelihood that I’ll find their blog consistently engaging. I will commonly hit the profile first. This case was no exception.

Here’s the thing: popping into JustMarie’s profile was very much like John Lennon walking into Indica Gallery on that fateful day in ’66. There was no ladder or spyglass, granted, but when I took a look at her tags – i.e. the words we add to our profiles to tell others what we’re into – I saw the word “YOU”.

And it made me feel great! Absolutely wonderful, in fact!

Here’s a woman who has something warm to say to every soul that passes by her profile. To each individual who takes the time to stop by and look around a bit, JustMarie says, in a single word, “I think you are a nice person. I’m into you. Let’s be friends.”

I didn’t need to read any of her blog posts after that. Just like John, the one word was enough to get me to stick around.

I added JustMarie and although I doubt she’ll end up as the reason for the destruction of a pop music icon, I do expect big things from her. Can't wait to find out what!

Thanks for adding me, JustMarie. Really. I mean that. Thank you.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About kirkstarr

I draw pictures for a living.
This entry was posted in Can I Say Something? and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to One Word

  1. Jay says:

    Thanks Kirk. This reminded me to add JustMarie to my neighborhood, since she'd already added me to hers earlier. Now I am less of a jerk, thanks to you. Every little bit counts. :)Great post too.

  2. Marie says:

    Oh my..
    Where are words when you need them. I am speechless!! This is one of the nicest and most thoughtful things anyone has ever done for me.
    Thank you Kirk. I look forward to getting to know you.

  3. Austin1234 says:

    Yes, this is so cool. I will know float around looking for one word clues that speak to me positively. Great post! Thanks.PS JustMarie is a fav of mine as well

  4. Kristen says:

    Marie is a wonderful woman.

Leave a Reply

