Fine. You Asked For It.

My buddy Jay tagged me yesterday. I didn’t even know there was a game of tag going on, so I wasn’t exactly doing my best dodging and weaving. Nevertheless, I am now “it” and am happy to reveal five random tidbits about myself that might just help you understand me better. Let’s see…

1. I lost my father to a shotgun suicide when I was four years old.

2. I lost my virginity to a girl named Denise when I was fifteen years old.

3. Probably the first legitimate “job” I had was when I was in the 9th grade. I bred my rats and sold the babies to a local pet store. It was enjoyable and rewarding, but my rat-breeding career came to an abrupt halt when I learned that pet stores only sell baby rats from uncertified sources for one purpose: snake food.

4. My parents’ house burned to the ground in the summer of 1987 and we lost pretty much everything we owned. I was the only one home when it happened and as this was before my folks had cell phones, I could not get hold of them. Without support or backup of any kind, I had to deal with a fire investigator who did his best to get me to confess to a fire I didn’t set just so he could wrap things up quickly. I also gave a statement to TV crews and confronted morbid neighbors who insisted on video-taping the destruction of my home. I did a lot of growing up that day.

5. I know what it’s like to jump out of a perfectly good airplane at 28,000 feet and achieve terminal velocity.

So there you go. I tried to mix it up a bit so as not to make my life seem any more harsh or any more rosy than it really is.

I totally get why Jay tagged his people privately, but I will just make it clear that anyone I tag who doesn’t want to participate does not have to. I won’t be offended in the slightest.

There are so many people I want to know stuff about, but I can only pick five. I’m tagging, in no particular order:

Dancing Bear

JustMarie

sonyaseattle

Jamestr

Red Pen

Read and post comments

About kirkstarr

I draw pictures for a living.
This entry was posted in Can I Say Something? and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Fine. You Asked For It.

  1. Cat says:

    Crap I just tagged you too…You already answered..so don't worry about it…
    I too have jumped out of a perfectly good airplane….Weeee!!

  2. Kirk says:

    "Crap I just tagged you too…"Aw, thanks Cat. You were on my shortlist, I swear! *blushes*

  3. RedScylla says:

    I don't know which made me sadder: #1 or #3. You were too young to really know about #1, but #3 must have been a real heart-breaking realization. If I were the hugging type, my man…

  4. kelli says:

    Wow.The one about the house fire just floored me. How awful to have to go through all of that. The fire was bad enough but to have to be interrogated like that by the fire investigators and then to see the neighbors exhibiting that ugly side of human nature? Just unreal.

  5. JamesTr says:

    Thanks for the tag, I'll get to it in a bit.
    The house fire is terrible. How old were you? This one deserves it's own post.

  6. Kirk says:

    fallen angel: Thanks for commenting. It's indeed a fun and interesting exercise. You don't really know what you're going to throw out there until you actually sit down and do it. The things I wrote today were not exactly what I had come up with last night while thinking it through.RedZ: The effects of #1 were certainly not fully realized until much later in my life. I've adored animals since I was a toddler and I had immense amounts of guilt over the whole rat-breeding thing. It took a long time time for me to forgive myself for that.kelli: Yeah, I learned a lot about the ugly side of human nature that day.Jamestr: I was 20 years old. Not even old enough to soothe the stress with a stiff drink.

  7. Sol says:

    First of all, thanx for NOT tagging me :)))))

    1) & 4) are simply terrifying. I know it's not useful but I feel like hugging you.

  8. marque says:

    Wow, Kirk. Heartbreaking. And you put my 5 to shame – oh the boring-ness of it all. Thanks for sharing some of yourself here – and, yeah, you and me had to grow up really quick, didn't we? ((hugs))

  9. Red Pen says:

    God. That's awful, Kirk. Your life has been harsh, by my standards. You're brave to share such meaningful things.

  10. Aurielis says:

    Thank you for sharing neighbour.
    You are a huge novel for me to read…and keep on reading I will.

  11. Jay says:

    I am so sheltered, Mr. Starr. Those were some heavy hits. You are made of some sterner stuff than I.Thanks for that.

  12. Kirk says:

    Wow, thanks everyone! I didn't think I portrayed my life as being all
    that rough – after all, I did get laid at fifteen! – but after your
    all's* comments, I'm starting to think I've had it pretty damn hard.
    Huh. I guess I have been through a lot, but I guess I turned
    out okay, as evidenced by the fact that I have so many friends who have
    such nice things to say to me.(((Group hug!)))*Every now and then, the fact I was born in West Virginia shows through in my language. Apologies.

  13. Marie says:

    Kirk…you sure did turn out ok.
    From what I see you turned out pretty damn great!!
    (((squirms her way into the group hug))))

  14. bouche says:

    That was some heavy stuff you shared and I give you credit for doing so. There are times where I've felt liberated by doing the same. I can relate to the realization about your neighbors. When I was in my early teens, I volunteered to watch my grandmother while my mother was at work and my father was at an appointment. I woke up, went downstairs and found my grandmother had a stroke and wasn't making a lot of sense. I was terrified and ended up calling my mom, the doctors, and the ambulance company… When they picked her up, I was home alone and freaked out. They took her out on a stretcher and left. I got on my bike and saw that a few of my neighbors were having coffee while pointing and staring up the street. When I rode by, all I remember is screaming shut-up as I went by. It bothered me so much that their maxell house moment was one that terrified me so much.

  15. Austin1234 says:

    Dude, two words: You're stand up. So appreciate you sharing some tough stuff.

Leave a Reply

