WaMu Shows the Love

Karin works for Washington Mutual. Last night, she received a building-wide e-mail requesting that the blinds be closed in the windows of all offices on the west side of the building between the 18th and 42nd floors.

The reason for this odd request is shown below. WaMu workers went to specific offices and re-opened the blinds in order to fashion a 180-foot (15-story) Valentine for the people of Seattle.


The giant heart – the largest Valentine in Seattle history – was created last night and will remain in place through tonight. The building is the WaMu Center, a brand-new skyscraper in the heart of downtown Seattle and home to the Seattle Art Museum (SAM). This photo is taken from the Seattle waterfront, though I understand the heart is easily visible from West Seattle.

So, if you live near Seattle and want to see the record-setting Valentine in all its glory, head out to north Alki this evening after dark. Hopefully by then the residents in those few stray offices will read their e-mail and close their blinds so that the effect isn’t diminished as it is in the photograph.

Happy Valentine’s Day! ^_^

Read and post comments

About kirkstarr

I draw pictures for a living.
This entry was posted in Can I Say Something? and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to WaMu Shows the Love

  1. IG says:

    awwww. a little sickening, but what the hell. awwwww.

  2. Brown Suga' says:

    Aw crap. I think I'm going to be depressed tonight.

  3. Red Pen says:

    LOL@ tag "love and money"I think this is cool. Thanks for the photo.

  4. Erin says:

    awe. that is super cute.

  5. Lauri says:

    This is awesomely totally coolly cool! (I am overusing and running out of my superlatives. )

  6. It's late and I missed it. Okay, it's not late late but it is if you have kids and have to get up at 5am. 🙂 It reminds me of sleepless in seattle and the empire state building. If I had known about it earlier I would have driven by. Damn, I wish I knew. 😦

  7. bouche says:

    That's pretty cool.

  8. Deborah says:

    that is SOOOO cool

Leave a Reply

