Is Your Future Flickr Pink or del.icio.us Blue?

I scanned this from the January 2007 issue of WIRED magazine. It’s just so bloody clever I thought I’d share it.

I uploaded a pretty large scan, but for those who still have trouble reading the colors on the crayons, I’ll list them here with my favorites in bold. I have also provided information links for the more obscure color names in case any of their meanings might be lost on some people. We have:

blue screen of death [info]
bioluminescent periwinkle
soylent green [info]
vulcan blood [info]
martian flesh
gm maize [info]
yellowcake [info]
clockwork orange [info]
red dwarf [info]
Wired pink [info]
toxic waste purple
nuked sienna
sky brown
steampunk copper [info]
melanoma [info]
cremains [info]
baryonic dark matter [info]
gray goo [info]
iPod white

Many thanks to mad and beautiful for help with the "melanoma" crayon. I feel so stupid! Der!

Read and post comments

About kirkstarr

I draw pictures for a living.
This entry was posted in Can I Say Something? and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Is Your Future Flickr Pink or del.icio.us Blue?

  1. Hops says:

    I think I'm gonna have to call "martin flesh" my favorite.

  2. I'm pretty sure that "anoma" is MELANOMA – it is sorta "sickly-skin-colored" so that would make sense.Those are hysterical. Thanks for scanning and posting that, Kirk. I am gonna forward this to my Jonny, the graphic designer, who will dig it as much as you did, I'm sure!Happy Fun Friday!

  3. JamesTr says:

    Those are great.
    At least we seem to have moved past Dodge Red and IBM Blue.

  4. Kirk says:

    "I'm pretty sure that "anoma" is MELANOMA…"I think you are right. I was so focused on that first letter being an "n" than I missed the obvious! I shall update and give you credit! ^_^

  5. The only thing is they're a little behind the curve, as MS has got ride of the Blue Screens of Death, at least on the XBox360, they've been replaced with Green Screens of death, really, LOLAs for my favourite colour, Soylent Green, mmm'm that's good people.

  6. SteveP says:

    I love that Artifacts From The Future thing they do every month…..

  7. Budd says:

    I like soylent green as well. Why should people have to die to make crayons though.

  8. never content to have my sienna simply "burnt", I'm more than happy to see that we've nuked it.
    good stuff.

  9. Jenn F. says:

    soylent green is people!

  10. bouche says:

    Ever seen that SNL Soyulent skit? Funny stuff.I have to admit that grey goo was a new one too me. I've occasionally bought wired for one article reason or another. Once I get back into the dough flow, I'll have to get a subscrip… It's always got cool stuff in it.

  11. Kirk says:

    "I have to admit that grey goo was a new one too me."Oh, man. The concept of Grey Goo – i.e. molecular nanites that consume life and replicate themselves simultaneously until all existence is consumed by them – is a totally mind-numbing sci-fi doomsday scenario. If I think about it too much, I get a headache. Cool stuff.

Leave a Reply

