Despair Never Sounded So Good

This right here is why Pink Floyd is and always will be my favorite band of all time. Not this particular song, per se, but rather the remarkable candor and honesty which are so adeptly set to melodies that are nothing short of perfect for carrying their intended messages.

Being a manic-depressive, I can completely relate to what ol' Roger was going through, even if I have not shared his amazing experiences. The music moves me and then the lyrics speak to me. Sometimes they don't say the nicest things but still I am compelled – sometimes by cynical necessity, sometimes as a side-effect of manic catharsis – to listen. And to absorb. And think. And, paradoxically, to heal.

But it was only fantasy.
The wall was too high, as you can see.
No matter how he tried, he could not break free.
And the worms ate into his brain.

Yeah, no kidding. As always, Rog, you display here an incredible mastery of words. I can feel these worms; they've always been there, eating and wriggling and digging. They are perpetually telling me I'm shit and that's why they eat me. But in an incredibly ironic manner, your lyrics tell me the worms are not real. By so openly dissecting your pain and laying it bare before me, you help me understand my own. You enable me to attempt the same methods of self-analysis. And just as the meth addict must suffer great tribulation before being clean again, so must I endure a similar cleansing with all the requisite penance. And when my Wall is torn down, I intend to still be standing there… naked but complete, shivering but strong.

And hopefully, someone will still be around to hand me a coat.

Read and post comments

About kirkstarr

I draw pictures for a living.
This entry was posted in Can I Say Something? and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Despair Never Sounded So Good

  1. jodipodi says:

    How bloody weird… I have a couple of Pink Floyd cd's but they are stuffed in a box.. and I downloaded The Wall today.. just so I could hear Comfortably Numb, because today I finally realised what it meant (to me anyway!)
    Hugs just because… xxx

  2. Kirk says:

    "Hugs just because… xxx"Thanks, Jodes. I needed that! ^_^

  3. Jay says:

    It's a great irony that healing has to involve so much pain.Yes, this is a fantastic album about what you're feeling. (Although I've always been more of a Dark Side of the Moon guy.)I think you'd be surprised, when your wall tumbles, how many people you'll see around you, each offering a coat of their own making.

  4. Kirk says:

    "I think you'd be surprised, when your wall tumbles, how many people you'll see around you, each offering a coat of their own making."Shit, this is a better sentence than anything I wrote in the post. Thank you, Jay. I have no doubt that you will be one of the first in line!

  5. Jay says:

    Put my coat on first. It's made of Nerf.^__~

  6. Lauri says:

    Heee, a Nerf coat.Lovely!You have virtual coats a'plenty waiting for you, Kirk. You give so much to us. I thank you for every bit of it!If my sending the strongest positive vibes possible helps…well, they are on the way, with a whole bunch of them coming for a long time to come.Hugs!!!

  7. bouche says:

    Kirk, hope you're feeling better. I see we've got a bunch of coats for you. How about a nice hot cup of tea or coffee? 🙂

  8. Brown Suga' says:

    I got no coat coz I'm tropical. But I can chip in with some green mango juice.

  9. Kirk says:

    Thanks, peeps! I write this sort of thing from time to time to purge whatever demons are prodding me a bit too much. It means a lot that my friends not only take the time to read it, but that they go so far as to offer up a few words of encouragement.No man is an island, but I think I'm beginning to understand what is meant by all people being connected. There is a very real, palpable truth there.Thanks again! ^_^

Leave a Reply

