The Book of Deej, Ch. 8: To Edgar, My Brother, Whom I Slept With

No, DG isn’t writing this entry, as the title might suggest. I actually derived the title from my favorite Bill Cosby LP (which, incidentally, I had all but completely memorized by the time I was eight). It seemed like the best title for a chapter about how close The Deej is to his brother and littermate Edgar.

DG and Edgar have been buddies from day one. In fact, it almost seemed as if Edgar, who was one of the larger kittens in the litter, was looking out for little Deej. More than once, I saw Edgar take out a kitten who had DG cornered. Sure, I might have read way too much into some typical kitten-play, but sometimes it sure seemed like The Deej had a big, black bodyguard.

Fear of Repeating Hiss-tory

With the exception of Lucky, the two oldest cats are a tabby named Stripe and a black cat named Salem. Like DG and Edgar, they were littermates. And like DG and Edgar, they were best of buddies when they were babies. Then one day, when they were about six months old, I took them to be fixed. As I mentioned in Chapter 4, Stripe has never forgiven me for this barbaric act, but there was another permanent result of that fateful trip to the vet: Salem and Stripe have absolutely hated one another ever since.

Understandably, the notion that DG and Edgar would become mortal enemies was an additional worry when we took the two of the to be fixed. We desperately feared a repeat of the Salem/Stripe fiasco that, sadly, continues to this day (albeit with less frequent skirmishes due to the laziness that comes with feline aging).

I am happy to report that with their first birthday fast approaching (five days and counting!), Edgar and The Deej are still as close as can be. They still play hard and they still sleep together; in fact, even as I write this, they are upstairs cuddled together on the World’s Ugliest Chair.

The no-claw/no-blood rumbles and the kitty spooning are the day-to-day reminders, but every now and then, one of the two kittens will do something that gives us solid proof that the bros are still tight.

Treats

I’ve mentioned before how much DG loves milk. You also learned that he doesn’t get much and he doesn’t get it very often. Well, even so, if Edgar walks into the kitchen while DG is enjoying some of the ol’ two percent, The Deej will pull away and let his brother have some.

Tongues

If one is sleeping and the other is bored, then often the bored kitten will spontaneously start cleaning out the other’s ears – just get right in there with that prehensile hairbrush of a tongue and root out whatever it is that’s down in there. If that’s not love, I don’t know what is.

Toys

They share toys. I swear, if DG finds something interesting to play with, he will seek out Edgar and show it to him. This will, 66% of the time, start a Battle for the Fuzzy/Shiny Thing that will not stop until they are both in need of a nap.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About kirkstarr

I draw pictures for a living.
This entry was posted in Can I Say Something? and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Book of Deej, Ch. 8: To Edgar, My Brother, Whom I Slept With

  1. Lauri says:

    Totally wonderful all around great post. I LOVE the pics. Gaaaawd, I about melted at the widdle deej and edgar nursing pic. And I have an identical picture of two of my cats sleeping cheek to cheek! Just so neat!!!Hiss-tory can never be repeated too often! ;))))))

  2. Lauri says:

    Oops, I forgot I wanted to comment on the title. I could hear Bill's voice the moment I read it! Classic! ;D

  3. little miao says:

    Awww, what sweet brothers! It just melts my heart. And they looks so happy snuggling with each other. Awwww…Sorry to hear about Salem and Stripe. Our Mani also changed after my parents took him in for his operation. He had to stay the entire night (I would have stayed with him if they had let me), and when he got back home, he didn't purr or headbutt for about a year! He's eight now, and he purrs very vigorously at least once every couple days, so he's gotten over it.

  4. lauowolf says:

    What a great tale.I love hearing about stuff like this.

  5. I-Luv-Eeyore says:

    I love reading DG stories. Thanks for sharing. That is a really cool cat tongue picture, too.
    You make me really and truly hate my allergies. Not that my husband would 'let' me have an inside cat…but still if I didn't have the severe allergy I could dream about having a kitty in the house. As it is now, I pet/scritch OC (Outside Cat) and have to come straight inside and wash my hand and sometimes change clothes.

  6. arbed says:

    I swear that the next time I get a cat, it will be actually two cats, and they will be littermates!

  7. Lurkertype says:

    awwwwwwwww…. you know how special the relationship is if Hellspawn Deej will be so generous.Smoochies to them both.

  8. AmyH says:

    So sweet! Thanks for sharing. Elvis had a sister but our neighbors took her and we took him. At the age of 13, he's not fond of other cats. That means I get all the snuggles to myself. He's a lover.

  9. Brown Suga' says:

    Squeeeeeeeeeee!!! What a sweet story.

  10. Erin says:

    I was so sad when I had to split up Tallulah and Friday. Now though, Gaz and Friday get along better, still with the copious amounts of interspecies S&M. and my mom seems very happy to have Tallulah to keep her company. drooling and all.cats are goofy.

  11. RedScylla says:

    Awww…makes we wish for the days when my cats were more into sibling cuddles and less into sibling squabbles. Oh, they still have their cuddly moments, but about 75% of the time, they just pretend the other sister doesn't exist.

Leave a Reply

