At This Stage, It Is No More Than a Zygote

WARNING: Some artwork depicted below, though woefully incomplete,  depicts female nudity and is definitely Not Safe For Work (NSFW). Scroll down at your own risk.

My friend IslandGirl wrote this nifty post (‘hood only link) in which she asks some of her VOX peeps for specific posts. She’s as curious as she is sweet.

Her request of me: “Show us a rough draft. Or something that didn't make the cut.”

Ordinarily, my reaction to this particular request would be, “Hell no. Fuck along, now," because I really, REALLY don’t like to show anyone my incomplete and/or failed work. To my mind, it’s just a supremely Bad Move to do so. Magicians don’t let you watch them develop an illusion; Corporate accountants don’t just lay their raw numbers on the table; Supermodels don’t let you see the unretouched photos. You just get to see the end result.  It’s no different most artists.

But IslandGirl asked really nicely and plus she batted her eyes.

To Cheat or Not to Cheat, That Is the Question

I thought about the various options open to me, based on the wording of her request. The easiest route would be to simply link to the illustration shown below and mention how it was an album cover design I did which was rejected for not being “dark” enough. But that seemed cheap, since this image has been available on my blog for a while and is thus nothing new to my long-time peeps, IslandGirl included.

Please don't be confused! This image is completed; it's just titled "Incomplete" (for obvious reasons). The actual unfinished work this post is about is further down. I'm getting there, I promise.

So anyway, then I thought what I could do is make good on my promise to take readers step-by-step through the process of conceptualizing and designing an illustrated cover for a software catalog. But it’s taking me a little while to get some necessary early sketches from my art director to make that post complete.

So instead you all get to see the piece of morbid filth I recently started.

NOTE: This is very early in the process. There is a lot to do before this is finished. Basically, anything here that looks wrong or bothers you is a direct result of it not being even remotely close to completion! I have hours of work ahead of me just adding another six thousand mosquitoes… wait, I’m getting ahead of myself…

A Lot of Build Up for Very Little

Let’s see. I guess a little background information would be helpful in giving this macabre scene a bit of context.

This is an illustration I’m working on to go with a Cthulhu-related story I’m currently writing. Both the story and the illustration will be entitled “Acolyte”. It’s a twisted story with a decided twist near the end and, being based on Lovecraft’s pinnacle evil deity, happens to also be quite gory. The image below, as a matter of fact, is really nothing in the gore department compared to what the final will be like.

It needs a lot more blood.

And tentacles.

And bugs.

Apologies for the watermarking. I simply can’t have anyone thinking this is a finished work. Gah. I’d never get another freelance job again!

So, here you go: the very beginnings of a sicko picture for my sicko story about a sicko god who eats sickos:

Now, aren’t you glad you asked, IslandGirl? ~_^

Read and post comments

About kirkstarr

I draw pictures for a living.
This entry was posted in Can I Say Something? and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to At This Stage, It Is No More Than a Zygote

  1. IG says:

    [this is unspeakably gory] Oooh–and yet I believe you when you say it's going to get far, far worse! Yowza!

  2. Emmi says:

    WOW! I wouldn't guess that was unfinished, but then again I'm clueless. It's very wild and creative, either way. 🙂

  3. Amanda says:

    Are you planning to show the final one when you're done? 🙂

  4. Kirk says:

    "Are you planning to show the final one when you're done?"Sure, why not? :)By the way, I'm glad you popped in, Amanda, because it reminds me to mention that the idea of having the mosquitoes swarming out of her mouth (I'm thinking of having horned beetles crawling out and down her front, as well) is a direct result of watching the episode of BtVS where Willow asks Osiris to resurrect Buffy — all that crap Willow went through. Good stuff.There're no friends like Buffy-friends!

  5. Amanda says:

    Anytime, Kirk! 🙂 Buffy-friends are awesome. Who else am I going to talk to about the show and Season 8? My "real" friends certainly don't understand the…er…obsession. I hate to use that word, but realistically, that's what it is.

  6. IG says:

    ewww! i remember that Buffy episode. great story, but omg–ewww! you find inspiration in the most twisted places, mr. starr. ;-P

  7. AmyH says:

    So I wasn't entirely clear, is this finished or not? 😛
    Fantastic work! And I totally understand not wanting to show people drafts. That might be why I'm not doing as much writing for cash as I should be. No one likes a critic, as much as we need them.

  8. CrowSeer says:

    Another bad date for poor Xander… 😦

Leave a Reply

