Has It Been That Long?

Wow. It’s been a while since I’ve written anything that wasn’t an out-of-office message or a to-do list. Failing to post anything for weeks isn’t generally considered a good practice in the blogosphere, which is why it’s a good thing I don’t blog for a living. I’d have been fired before I ever had a chance to starve to death.

Anyway, my ridiculous lack of content isn’t due to having nothing to write about. Rather, it’s from having so much to write about that I’ve no time to write about it. Lotsa crazy doings around the CimC household in the past several weeks, many of which I’m sure you’ll all be regaled with in the days and weeks to come.

Vroooooom!

For example, Karin and I bought a new car the other day: this lovely Nissan Sentra. Well, okay, it’s last year’s model so it’s not brand new, but it’s close enough. It smells new, runs perfectly, and has nary a scratch on it, so it’s new as far as I’m concerned. It’s even still under warranty. Basically, everything about it is like new but the price. Yeah, baby.

I can hear some of you in the back mumbling about the four doors and the silver paint job (I’m looking at you, OTP), but you must understand that I’m forty years old, I already have a great woman, and I enjoy saving money on gasoline and insurance more than I enjoy getting to the next red light before everyone else. I also hate making my passengers climb like monkeys into the back seat. So, we went with the silver, four-door Sentra instead of the gumdrop orange 350Z.

I love this car. It’s iPod ready, it has power everything, and it gets a gazillion miles to the gallon*. Best of all, we can totally afford it. I love this car. Did I say that already?

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I need to go drive my other car for a while.

*I exaggerate of course, but only because I haven’t calculated the mileage yet and am completely blown away by how slowly the gas needle moves downward.

Read and post comments

About kirkstarr

I draw pictures for a living.
This entry was posted in Can I Say Something? and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Has It Been That Long?

  1. jaypo says:

    New cars are teh faboo, Kirk, even new old ones. My '02 CRV is still new to me. Like a relationship where the romance never dies! Though a CRV is hardly sexay, it's mah wheels and I love that thing.Maturity. It's all good.

  2. From one 4-door silver car driver to another… RIGHT ON!

  3. Erin says:

    I missed you! Glad things are well in Kirkland!

  4. It's funny you said that too, because I have this thing against silver cars (only for myself, or anyone who asks my opinion) because variations of silver/gray are the number one color choice for new cars in the USA, and, how very boring and grayscale.HOWEVER.I approve of the Sentra, so you're spared my obnoxiously opinionated rant.

  5. bouche says:

    My Altima little a lot alike your Sentra and I'm in my 30s. I inherited this car from my father though :-/It's a 2000 and it runs nicely.

  6. Jay says:

    Oh sure. If it were me you'd have ripped me a new one. But 'cuz it's Kiiiiiirk…….(Nice to see you around again Mr. Starr. You've been missed.)

  7. If you got rid of the Audi I'd rip you a new one no matter what you replaced it with.Well, okay, that's not true. But it's likely.

  8. CrowSeer says:

    I don't mean to criticise, but I think you should have gone for the Nissan Sentinel instead… that way, you could do the shopping and stomp pesky mutants! Stomp! Stomp! Stomp!

    No? Just me then…

  9. lizzy says:

    ooh congratulations! i'm completely car illiterate but it looks great to me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

