Non-Stop Potter

Both Amanda and Zachary got copies of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows yesterday morning and commenced marathon reading. Breaks were taken, sure, but by early evening they’d both finished the book…

…all 759 pages of it.

I know it’s written at a fourth grade reading level or something like that, but still, 759 pages is a pretty big wad of text to consume in one day, isn't it? Being an English major, I took a ridiculous number of literature courses in college and I don’t think I ever read over 700 pages in a 24-hour period, even when the reading was easy. I've just never had that level of malicious hostility towards my own eyeballs.

But there can be no doubt that Harry Potter isn't just any old storybook character. I mean, JK Rowling has more money than the Queen of England.

The fact that we have two copies in our own household makes me wonder: How many of you have read / are reading / intend to read the final Harry Potter book?

Read and post comments

About kirkstarr

I draw pictures for a living.
This entry was posted in Can I Say Something? and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Non-Stop Potter

  1. Emmi says:

    You can put down one "Nay" for me, I've only seen the movies. I seriously considered buying the book just because there are spoilers everywhere and I would rather read the book than have the last Potter movie ending revealed before it's even made. But I assume the last movie will have a different ending than the book.
    I think that kind of marathon reading can in fact only be done by the young and resilient. It's kind of like staying up all night with freinds – it takes a youthful endurance. 😉

  2. Fattypants says:

    I read the whole thing yesterday between about 11:30am and 10 pm, with a half-hour break every hundred pages or so. And I'm neither young nor resilient!

  3. Emmi says:

    But you're a librarian. That's cheating LOL. 😉

  4. I-Luv-Eeyore says:

    I am reading it. I'm about 1/4 of the way through….(I guess as I haven't been keeping up with it). I was at Wal~Mart buying it at about 12:15 Saturday morning. I was about 20th in line. Came home, read three chapters, went to sleep, got up read some more…but then I am a Mom and a wife…my housework has suffered for weeks on end; we've lived out of laundry baskets and eaten out of boxes and off paper plates…it's time to grow up and get to work. blech! This morning while Harry and Hermione have been calling me I've: folded and put away five baskets of clothes and cleaned the kitchen. Started and finished two other loads of laundry (How in the World do three people–make that two since Jordan hasn't been home in over a week—create so much laundry??)
    Now I have to go to the grocery store, come home and put it away (or it will sit in bags on the floor for days upon days). Then it will be time to fix supper and such…
    I'll get Harry finished sooner or later. bleh!

  5. Kirk says:

    Maya: I stopped reading after the third book. Just so much other stuff I wanted to read. I'll get back to Harry Potter eventually, I'm sure, even if I do already know how everything turns out. ;)Fattypants: Great to see you, lady; been a while. You enjoying our "summer" weather? 🙂 Kudos on completing the book. I'll put another mark on the "hates their own eyeballs" side.I-Luv-Eeyore: I SO know where you're coming from. You are not alone.

  6. Susan says:

    I have as yet to read the book or see the first movie but this is how one Potter fan of thousands were able to buy and finish the book yesterday. 🙂

  7. I'm done….read straight for about 6 hrs..but was also working, so kept getting interrupted to do my job. Pesky having to earn a living 🙂

  8. Fattypants says:

    Well, it was good reading weather, at least. After 3 years of Miami summers, I really don't mind it a bit. My eyeballs are fine! Honest! That twitch has been there since Tuesday…

  9. lizzy says:

    oh i'm reading it, in fact i'm gonna sign off now and continue reading. i thought i would have read it all today but life got in the way. i have read them all the day they came out except the first two because then i didn't know they existed lol. oh and i'm a grandmother, just for the record. 🙂

  10. Miss Parker says:

    I'm about halfway through. I am trying not to do the marathon reading this with this one, as I have with all the others. I kind of want to savor it, as it's the final one, but I'm finding it difficult to slow down.

  11. little miao says:

    i'm also trying to savor this one, no marathon reading-races this time. i'm only about 1/3 the way through.

  12. Bookmole says:

    Read it now. I read chaps 1, 2 & 3 on Saturday, after I picked it up, and the rest today. Thoroughly enjoyed it.The last one I read in one day. It was misty raining, and I sat outside under the big canvas umbrella, with breaks for tea, coffee and cooking Sunday lunch. Now that was a marathon read! Oh, Maya – I am 53. Not young, nor necessarily resilient, just a reading addict.

  13. Laurie says:

    I read it all yesterday, too. It was a treat for myself to take a whole day just to read. And I think I savored it — I certainly read it a bit slower to fix all the right actors' voices in my head for the dialogue, because I think the casting in the movies has been so perfect.

  14. faerie~wings says:

    My husband gets first read in our one-edition household, but I may have to smother him in his sleep if he doesn't finish soon.And, for the record: I read Stephen King's Bag of Bones in one sitting, which is seven hundred plus pages. Of course, that was pre-kids. *sighs* Harry will probably take at least four days barring sickness or babysitters. Yes, I am considering getting a babysitter to read this book. I am depraved!

  15. I finished it early Saturday morning…about 5am to be exact. It starts off such that you can't stop reading…nor do you want to.The only problem with finishing this fast is that with this book, we know there's nothing else after it so it's very bittersweet. I'm glad that your kids enjoyed it as much as I did!

  16. Brown Suga' says:

    I haven't seen even one Harry Potter film because I loved the books so much (well … until book#5) and I didn't want them to ruin the effect of the books.
    I'm sorta in two minds about book #7, because it's going to be the last, but at the same time … would I really miss the series? I guess I've got to read it to find out!
    One thing's for sure, though … the HP series cannot touch Sherlock Holmes. The cry of outrage that went up when Arthur Conan Doyle killed him in The Final Problem … he had to bring Holmes back! Now that's literary stardom.

  17. Lorelei says:

    Finished it sunday morning at 2 am. (thank you, Amazon, for sending my book so early, esp. when my account said to expect it on the 25th.)Wow, she did a number on Dumbledore, didn't she? Though I think the character risk (assassination??) totally paid off.Also, the book has cemented my complete and utter love for Snape.

  18. Rev Stan says:

    It took me until Monday night, although I didn't read solidly over the weekend because I had to be sociable/responsible adult at certain points. I did get to Sunday night with 130 pages to go and toyed with the idea of burning the midnight oil but decided to finish it on Monday evening after work. That day went really slow.I think I must be surrounded by the slowest readers on the planet because not one of my friends has finished it yet so I haven't had a chance to talk about it which is driving me CRAZY!

  19. Miz Blo says:

    I just finished it not even 10 mins ago, I loved it.

  20. RedScylla says:

    In the three months preceding my master's exam, I read that much on a daily basis…but I never considered it "fun."

Leave a Reply

