Voting for Dummies

I received an e-mail today entitled “They Walk Among Us” that contained several stories detailing the unbelievably stupid actions of various unknown people. One described how a woman had no idea that the sun has always risen in the east; another detailed a man’s inability to understand that there are 24 hours in a day regardless of what time zone you are in. Whatever.

The person who sent me the e-mail added their own comment: “And they have the same right to vote as we do.”

I can’t tell you how many times I have pondered the idea of only allowing intelligent people to vote. I do it pretty much any time I’m disgusted and/or baffled by the results of an election – like, say, when Californians elected a steroid junkie cum hack actor as Governor.

The problem, of course, is that we’d have to draw a line somewhere designating who was intelligent enough to vote and who wasn’t…

…and we’d probably have to vote on where the line was drawn.

The Flaw of Averages

I know a lot of you have considered the same thing. My VOX ‘hood is chock full of smart people and I’m certain that a high percentage have, out of destabilizing frustration, imagined a world where only people of their own intellect or higher were permitted to elect leaders, drive cars, dress themselves, etc. It’s a Utopian existence where the President cares more about people than money, most commuters are tucked away safely on buses, and no one ever has to see how Lycra interacts with elephantine ass-fat.

The fantasy has a dark side, however, because one’s intellect eventually acknowledges the reality that the average human being is an irretrievable cretin and that, by logical extension, the intelligent person is woefully outnumbered.

This realization can cause the most resilient of thinkers to snap. I’ve seen it happen. This one guy – corporate economist – arrived at the undeniable conclusion that the average person will take a movie star’s opinion over a doctor’s regarding which type of over-the-counter painkiller is safest*. That's all it took. Next thing you know, he’s recording professional wrestling, subscribing to FHM magazine and sending out chain e-mails with outlandish anecdotes about stupid people. Needless to say, he shouldn’t be allowed to vote anymore.

*not really true; I made it up to make a point.

Read and post comments

About kirkstarr

I draw pictures for a living.
This entry was posted in Can I Say Something? and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Voting for Dummies

  1. Lauri says:

    So much truth and yet, so much humor, too! I love this post!I, too, often think about the possiblity of putting Birth Control Potion in all water supplies. Everywhere. Then, only when people have proven they are intelligent, responsible, wise and kind are they given the antidote and allowed to reproduce.Nobody else needs to even know it's there! Shhhhh!!! Don't tell!Seriously, I'll bet you that the factoid of the average person taking a movie star's opinion over a doctor's is not a factoid at all! Why do you think they make those freakin' commercials where the "I'm not a doctor but I play one on TV" idiot gives us all medical advice!Excellent post, Kirk!PS. I haven't heard of the Fratellis, but Karin IS awesome for buying you the shirt! Now I can go listen to them! Thanks! 😀

  2. K. says:

    I don't know you, but I saw your post on the Vox main page, and all I can say is "AMEN." Being one who lives in the state that elected that walking steroid receptacle, it pains me to know that not only are stupid people breeding, but they're breeding other stupid people who will elect someone into the highest office in the state because even though he doesn't have any political experience, he played a politician on TV.
    Fuckers.
    I hope it's okay if I add you to my neighborhood. It's nice to see someone who can put together a coherent sentence.

  3. jaypo says:

    One of my coworkers honestly thought that you could crossbreed a rabbit with a cat. Honestly. She's bright, highly educated, *intelligent*. Here's another one. One of the brightest faculty members in the language department of my academic place of employment did not know how to insert paper labels into the plastic tabs of file folders. He didn't realize you fold them in half to fit. He asked for smaller tabs. But he's extremely intelligent. I don't know if Intelligence measure much of anything, to tell you the truth…

  4. Cat says:

    Amen….I don't have much more to say except you spoke my mind….therefore I have nothing else to add…

  5. lauowolf says:

    Anyone who can think must have moments of absolute despair.But it does explain a lot about the make-up of our government.

  6. Kzinti says:

    MMMmmm. An ass so big, it looked like 400 pounds of large curd cottage cheese squished into spandex… Check please!

  7. Lauri says:

    I had a friend ask me if dogs grow the number of nipples they need when they have a litter of puppies. Yeah…and women with triplets grow another boob, too.

  8. AmyH says:

    I'm always shocked, amazed and saddened by the level of ignorance of people. I try to give people the benefit of the doubt because I just don't want to acknowledge that people could be so clueless.
    But then I run across someone who makes me think, "How did they get this far in life without being eaten by wolves?"
    I just don't understand how you can make it to a certain point in life and be that oblivious. Sometimes I'm asked, "How do you know that about X?"
    "I pay attention."

  9. Ruth says:

    Thank you! I sometime think the same thing, and then feel really guilty, like I'm being elitist or undemocratic or something. It's good to know others feel the same frustration, and think the same way. (Sometimes my thoughts stray a little darker, towards overpopulation of the world and what to do about it, but we won't go there.)

Leave a Reply

