Overheard Over Coffee

Her: Oo! They have Chonga bagels! You wanna split one?

Him (distracted): What?

Her: Do you want to split a Chonga?

Him: Sounds like a euphemism for something.

Her (confused): Huh?

Him: So there I was, splitting the Chonga…

Her: A simple “no” would have been fine. What kind of coffee do you want?

Him: Short drip with room.

Her: Yeah, sounds about right.

Read and post comments

About kirkstarr

I draw pictures for a living.
This entry was posted in Can I Say Something? and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Overheard Over Coffee

  1. Kevin Wolf says:

    I refuse to believe that people talk this way outside of sitcoms.

  2. RedScylla says:

    Additionally, I believe the chonga bagel to be a crime against bagels ;o)No surprise from Starbucks.

  3. Kirk says:

    Kevin: Oh, they do every now and then. Be nice if they did it more often. Then I wouldn't have to try being funny myself. I could just keep blogging what other clever people say.RedZ: If adding cheese, onion, and garlic to a bagel is a crime, then where are we headed as a society? These things go on just about everything.

  4. bouche says:

    Sounds okay. I eat many of my bagels naked and untoasted, from plain to spinach parm.

  5. Brown Suga' says:

    LOL! I didn't get the "short drip with room" part, though.
    (If it's naughty, never mind.)
    I've never eaten a bagel – the chonga sounds rather pizza-ish in a yummy sorta way. (Make that Indian pizza-ish.) And I love onion, cheese and garlic.
    Are they like donuts, only savoury? I haven't had donuts either, but in South India we make vadas that are sorta like savoury donuts. [slurp]

  6. Patricia says:

    lol….that was my daily breakfast….along with my jug 'o coffee. 🙂

Leave a Reply

