To Boldly Snark…

I love the original Star Trek.* With a name like mine, I suppose I was obligated from the get-go. I never really minded when kids would taunt me, “Oh look! It’s captain KIRK of the STARRship Enterprise! Har-de-har-har!” I took it as a compliment. Captain Kirk was larger than life to me. He was nothing short of Distilled Awesomeness. He was so manly he built homemade cannons, yet had the self-security to sport copious amounts of eyeliner. He bedded green women, for crying out loud! He even mastered the drop-kick without so much as a single Hap Ki Do lesson! Captain Kirk was a stud.

And to this very day, I use the Star Trek intro as my go-to answer whenever someone asks me (their token English Major friend) what a “split infinitive” is.

I’m also a big fan of Demotivators, so you can imagine my high-pitched squee when I saw these brilliant pieces of work at Echosphere.

These are my three faves, but I also quite liked Continuity and The Oracle. Be sure to go and peruse them all.

Of course, all I want to do now is think up new ones.

*So does my woman (sort of). I’m a lucky guy.

Read and post comments

About kirkstarr

I draw pictures for a living.
This entry was posted in Can I Say Something? and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to To Boldly Snark…

  1. [هذا هو الحكم]

  2. Kirk says:

    No, I hadn't seen that. Thanks!The conclusion of the original article is great:Conclusion:
    We can reliably improve the survivability of the red-shirted crewmen by
    only exploring peaceful, female-only planets…

  3. OK, just one more and I'm done.Something I learned from Apocalypse Now (I think) that also applies to all incarnations of Trek: "Don't get off the boat."Now, I shall boldly go… back to work.

  4. Kirk says:

    First the Buffy theme and now this song? OK, I officially lurve Nerf Herder! Must. Find. CD.

  5. Brilliant! Brilliant and funny! Wait, no… brilliant, funny and geeky! My favourite combination.

  6. Kirk says:

    "Did you ever see Galaxy Quest with Tim Allen?"Have the DVD. 🙂

  7. cassandra says:

    NICE, loved the demotivators! loved captin kirk as well! great post thanks for sharing. i need to get my hands on those posters!

  8. gcw says:

    As I entitled my post (and appropriately linked back to you): "This explains so much."

  9. RedScylla says:

    Excellent. I love the Demotivators anyway, but these are extra awesome.

Leave a Reply

