Poor Things Never Had a Chance

WARNING: Kirk's royally pissed off. Foul language ahead. Upsetting photo, as well. You've been warned.

The atrocities committed by that repugnant halfwit Michael Vick have consequences that are as heartbreaking as they are ironic. It would seem that the solution as to what to do with all the dogs Vick was torturing – the ones that escaped being killed – is to…

…wait for it…

kill them.

You read that right. The rigors Vick put the pit bulls through have turned them into vicious animals incapable of being rehabilitated and will likely result in the dogs being put down. The Associated Press reports:

RICHMOND, Va. – More than 50 pit bulls seized from Michael Vick's property face a Thursday deadline to be claimed. If no one comes forward, they could be euthanized.

Federal prosecutors filed court documents last month to condemn 53 pit bulls seized in April as part of the investigation into dogfighting on the Vick's property…

Though [U.S. District Judge Henry E.] Hudson, who also is handling Vick's criminal case, will determine what becomes of the pit bulls, [PETA spokeswoman Daphna] Nachminovitch said that it's likely that they will be euthanized because they're not adoptable as pets.

"These dogs are a ticking time bomb," she said. "Rehabilitating fighting dogs is not in the cards. It's widely accepted that euthanasia is the most humane thing for them.”

I understand the logic. I do. And while I can’t find adequate justification for having Vick “euthanized” (even though he, too, is a ticking time bomb), I do feel that the public would be best served keeping a guy like him in prison for life.
Now before you go rolling your eyes right out of your head at the audacity of that opinion, consider the statistics concerning animal cruelty as a precursor to serial killing. Now consider the calculated manner in which Vick tormented these dogs and the inhuman lack of compassion it signifies. I'm not suggesting Vick is a strangled puppy away from becoming the next Son of Sam, but the way I see it, society has absolutely no use for a guy whose only skills are torturing animals and throwing a stupid fucking ball.*

*sigh* The best I can hope for is that during the short time he is in jail, some other psychopath will shove a sharpened pipe through his spleen. After sodomizing him, of course. He definitely deserves to be royally corn-holed before he bleeds out.

*Skills listed by level of ability, highest first.

Read and post comments

About kirkstarr

I draw pictures for a living.
This entry was posted in Can I Say Something? and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Poor Things Never Had a Chance

  1. I-Luv-Eeyore says:

    Momma always told me: "If you can't say something nice don't say anything at all."
    Therefore, I refrain from commenting….except to say that I agree with you 100% (poor innocent-at-one-time puppy-dogs.) ~~sigh~~

  2. Patricia says:

    When I saw the entire picture of that pup, tears were welling up in my eyes. I cannot express how completely disguting I think Vick is. He should be tortured in the same manner his beautiful dogs were. I hope he will be forever shadowed by what he has done. He doesn't deserve to go back to making millions….he barely deserves to live. The whole story just enrages me.

  3. Jenn says:

    I also agree with you and yet I also feel like vomiting.This shit pisses me off.

  4. Budd says:

    Vick doesn't even have the skill of throwing a ball. His completion rate was 54% lowest among active QBs in the NFL with however many starts.I say you put Pacman and Vick into a cage and let them fight to the death. Then you euthanize the survivor.

  5. faerie~wings says:

    I've seen really chilling statistics on areas where there are reports of dogfighting and child abuse. These things tend to go hand in hand. *sighs*life can really suck sometimes.

  6. Emmi says:

    What I can't wrap my head around is the idea that a guy with so much money and privellege should act so freakin' arrogant when his animal torture is discovered. Suck it up, baby. Many inner city (all races) criminals at least have the excuse that their life sucks. What's his?

  7. M says:

    Well, I can't agree with everything you said, but I do hope he gets more than the piddling amount they're talking about (ends up being a year or less) and I'd like to see his current assets and future earnings get hammered to help homeless and abused animals. Maybe build a huge effing shelter in his back yard.
    Did you see how this idiot defended Vick?

  8. Fattypants says:

    I just…can't even read any more about this. It gets me too worked up.

  9. Carlisa says:

    Another example of something you'd have to be crazy to understand. Don't even allow your brain to go there for a second! 😦

  10. cassandra says:

    forget life, give this guy the chair! ooooooooh, i'm so angry right now!

  11. Well stated, as always. (Hugs to Tosh & Marley)

  12. lauowolf says:

    I don't know about euthanizing them.I think they should live long, expensive lives professionally cared for at his expense.

  13. Is it wrong for me to be equally incensed that people in society will tolerate the killing and beating of women in this country from spouses and boyfriends, or general violence towards women in the WORLD?I'd love to see people so enraged about the torture women endure most likely right next door or down the street and do something about THAT. This topic and the media's reaction to it has infuriated me. Approximately a month ago, a Seattle Mariner beat his wife black and blue and he's already back in the game. No ripples, no outrage, no NOTHING. AND SHE'S A HUMAN!I'm not taking away from the evil here – and yes it's truly heinous, but damn people… start caring about other people this way and we just might be able to do change the world in a good way. Maybe we won't raise people to grow up and do this sort of thing: winwin for everyone, animals and humankind.

  14. bouche says:

    You're right, and I feel infuriated when any life comes to a brutal end. It's all over the place. Men, woman, children, animals as well as this planet. I'm infuriated when sexual predators, rapists, murderers, ect get short sentences and quick parole hearings. I'm upset with our antiquated prison system, our sometimes strange and unfair justice system… I'm upset that my friend's on his second tour in Iraq and how globally, genocidal conflicts are openly ignored. There's an endless stream of what upsets me. It's an overload. I think everyone is upset about these things as well and while all we hear is what's sensational, I blame the media (which covers this so heavily because, he's famous…), specifically those who chose to devote whatever percentage of airtime to whatever they feel will be a draw for them. It isn't right.Concerning this story… It's a disregard for life. It's a tendency to view the life of an animal as expendable so that people can feel 'entertained' as the literally tear themselves to shreds and along with that, I feel what follows it is a an open acceptance that violence, in any form, is acceptable. And in each any every case of it, it isn't.

  15. I don't want people to think I hate animals: My dogs have their own twin bed (they are small dogs, but bed-hogs) and they are great companions for both me and my son. I just wish people would express such concern over people who are going thru torture and violence. And to me, it just seems like women who undergo torture and violence… we blame them and have no sympathy. It's callous and I think if we exhibited a bit more compassion for humanity in general, perhaps we might lessen the likelihood of evil like Vick being raised to believe his treatment of animals was comprehensible. Sorry… I get upset and emotional. I had no one to help me and I am an intelligent sane woman. I have learned the hard way that people are more likely to give help to animals than women in that position. It's backwards, and the whole nature of the post – just very sad….

  16. lauowolf says:

    I would so never think you were anti-animals.Sadly, there is plenty of outrage to go around for everyone.I'd say it's a good thing this creep doesn't have a wife, who knows what her lot would have been like.

  17. Budd says:

    Oh, so Vick was allowing the dogs to live free lives, giving them a sporting chance of escaping, and then eating the remains. I have never met a deer hunter that would prolonge the suffering of a deer, let alone torture it.

  18. Kirk says:

    You're quite right, GB. I hadn't heard about that Mariner beating his wife, which I guess also supports your point. I live right here in Seattle, for crying out loud! WHY hadn't I heard anything about that but so much about this?As far as I'm concerned, crime should get them fired. If I committed such a crime, my employer would likely fir me and I don't have a job that half the kids in America liken to Hero. That Mariner should lose his right to play professional baseball, just as Vick should (at the very least) lose his NFL contract. Both men should spend a long damn time in jail.I don't much like to get political and/or socially outraged on my blog, as most of you know, but the dreadful irony of this story was too much too bear. I certainly never thought you were anti-animals just as I know you don't think I'm cool with wife-beating. It's just I read this story and I saw that poor dog's face and everything went red.Thanks for your thoughtful comments, GB. Much appreciated, as always. 🙂

  19. Emmi says:

    Gunderson Bee makes an excellent point, and I agree this story has been a bit overplayed. The abused women issue is SO important and involved I think it's somewhat hard to mix apples and oranges, but you're right that the other story should have gotten equal attention!!!!
    What bothers me is the Vick chewtoys (albiet funny), humorous anti-Vick tshirts, etc etc. That infuriates me because we should not be getting laughs out of this; the whole situation is extremely disturbing and picking on one human being alone won't solve anything.
    The shelter I worked in saw many fighting pits come in and it was brushed aside as just part of the inner city culture. There was zero outrage over it. That was in 1999! Where was the outrage then?? PETA and PETA alone were screaming foul at that time and no one gave a rat's behind.

  20. Emmi says:

    ps Not in any way disagreeing with Kirk's post, in fact I'm glad someone's bringing it up – it needs to be understood and it is one more step in the direction of taking animal welfare as a SERIOUS ISSUE!

  21. Brown Suga' says:

    Kirk, I've got to disagree with you on one point. Vick is not "one strangled puppy away" from becoming a serial killer – he already IS one. Anyone who tortures innocent/ animals or people – and for fun – is seriously fucked up and needs to eliminated from the gene pool stat. Forget the dogs, there's no hope of rehabilitating people like him.
    Walt Disney's wonderful animal stories stemmed from a childhood incident where he killed an owl because he wanted to capture it. He was repentant and sorrowful and never hurt animals again. But he was a child. When a child is capable of learning his lesson, why should it be so hard for an adult? But the fact that Vick had been doing it for so long solidifies the fact that such a man is incapable of correcting himself and is beyond help. I'm sorry, but he and the rest of his ilk – the people who rape and murder people of all ages and animals alike for the sheer pleasure of it – need to be put to death.
    Is that poor mutilated animal in the photo one of his victims? Vick needs to be fed to the very dogs he starved. Life in prison seems like forgiveness in comparison.

  22. Brown Suga' says:

    Forgot to [TIG] this …

  23. Lauri says:

    Oh god. I do want to throw up.
    But, I am glad you said what you did. The sucker DOES need to be royally cornholed WHILE he bleeds out.
    Goddamn him and ANYONE who hurts other living things.

  24. Brown Suga' says:

    Oh dear! I'm so very sorry … I misquoted you. You did say that you were "NOT suggesting Vick is a strangled puppy away from being the next Son of Sam." I missed the "not" there … I guess I was so infuriated about this horrendous crime that I neglected to read your post carefully.
    In any case, I stand by what I said in my first comment … that Vick is already a "Son of Sam."
    [sigh] Maybe I'm in a vicious mood today, or maybe I really am not as forgiving as I thought.

  25. gcw says:

    Great comments and perspective all the way around, Kirk. It will be interesting to see if he's allowed to plead his way down to a lesser offense. And… it will be interesting as well to see what the State comes back and charges him with. Personally, I think he ought to be fed to the dogs he's been mistreating.And just for the record, Gunderson Bee smacked it right out of the park. I have a 12-year-old chocolate lab that I would do pretty much anything for. But if anyone so much as looks funny at my wife, it's a whole 'nuther smoke.

  26. Karin says:

    It is not wrong at all. I totally understand where you are coming from. It sucks that people will get more enraged about the mistreatment of animals than they will about the mistreatment of people. Especially woman. When I was 18 years old I went into hiding. I never saw any of my friends from high school again. It was the only way to get away from a abusive creep who had told me that he love me (and would kill me if I left.) The police didn't help. The doctor's in the Emergency room of the hospital didn't help. There weren't laws in place yet that forced them to.But, I must point out that, the first violent thing he ever did while we were together was about a month after he moved in. He got pissed off at me and dropped kicked my hamster cage with my hamster in it. I gave the hamster away the very next day. It took 18 months to extricate myself and it really only happened that quick because my best friend in the entire world (who I barely knew at the time) helped me escape. My points are that people who abuse people, abuse animals and some people care, just not enough of 'em.

  27. M says:

    I don't make the news, I just report it. Can I help it if Stephon Marbury has taken a few too many rebounds off the head and can't distinguish between sport and torture?

  28. bouche says:

    I agree with you, but I just think media go after what they see "gets the ratings". I had worked in news and that's how I saw it. I've also known many women who were in violent relationships and it's quite a sad and complex issue. One friend was nearly beaten to death, twice. A policeman convinced her to put the f'er behind bars. Another woman I knew was in an abusive marriage, she was put in the hospital, into vera house and decided to cave to her husbands threats that 'she'd never see her kids again'. They disappeared from our area not too long after… Nothing was ever on the news about the last woman. Nothing. Perhaps if this got more coverage, it would be easier for women to get out and away from these relationships.I have 6 sisters. 6 sisters that wouldn't take crap like that from men. They learned this from my mom, who never took any crap like that from my father (he learned the hard way). As I got older and met women like the ones I mentioned above, I was kind of shocked at how 'stuck' they felt. It's very sad and I hope some day this type of violence ceases to exist.

  29. Carlisa says:

    What great opinions here. I'm thinking Karin and I went thru much the same, only I married at 15 and had two babies by the time I was 17. I went thru 2 1/2 years of abuse. My ex recently died in jail as he served a life term for 1st degree murder. But I did have enough sense to get the hell out. The system calls it a "domestic affair" because most of the time abusive husbands sucker their wives into taking them back and wind up dropping charges. Unfortunately animals don't have that opportunity to escape.Like Kirk said 'Poor things never had a chance'
    I will say I agree with GB on the fact that this got more coverage than a "person abuse case". I posted something about the VA Tech killer and was amazed at the amount of sympathy this 'poor misunderstood, in need of medical attention, socially outcasted' dude got! Tell it to the mommas' of those children…grrrr!…
    This is where I see Bouche's very good explanation of WHY. I totally agree with you, my friend! The MEDIA is getting ridiculous with things. They feed it to us, and we eat it. I figure anytime they put people in danger (spesh our troops!) by reporting all the negatives, they are nothing more than con-artists. Good things won't up our ratings, let's whip out the dirt! Triple grrrrrs! Sorry for the lengthy post, Kirk!

  30. I'm split to go with Budds suggestion and Lauowolfs about Him having to pay for their care and rehabilitation, even if it means life long treatment. But being against death I'd go for Lauwolf but add extra puppies to make up for the dogs that died.

  31. Emmi says:

    Yeah, and if anyone needs ammo for this argument, I beleive it was Northeastern University in Boston which conducted the study and indeed found that violent criminals often have a past record of killing and torturing animals.

  32. What amazes me is that people like Jamie Fox and Whoopie Goldberg have come out to defend this kind of behavior as a "cultural thing." WTF? First, If a white guy would have said that he would have been sent straight to the seventh ring of Hell where they're gonna put Don Imus and Michael Richards. But second… A "cultural thing?" That's the justification!? At one time in this country we had whites-only water fountains and segregated schools. That was a "cultural thing" too. Does that make it any less evil?

    You know, the Holocaust was pretty much a "cultural thing" too.

  33. Kirk says:

    I love Whoopi, so I was reading the stories and the transcript of the show, trying to see how her words were twisted. But in the end, I had to admit that what her point boiled down to was that it was a cultural thing — she didn't condone it, but she did try to explain it away.

Leave a Reply

