In Case You Were Wondering (some updates)

OK, I’m home sick today and I’ve had a nip or two of the NyQuil, so forgive me if this gets stupid.

Some updates:

There are still 18 days left to enter the Cthulhu is my Copilot 1st Annual Anniversary Contest. So far, 33 people have entered. That’s, like, 27 more than my loftiest prediction! I’m rather chuffed, to be honest – sniffling and coughing with a raging phlegm-fire in my chest, but chuffed all the same. So thank you.

If you have not entered and want your name in the hat, be sure to send me a Private Message or leave a comment at the Contest Fhtagn post. It’s that easy. I won’t even ask you to pronounce Cthulhu.

I spoke to someone at the nearby Catholic Church regarding the abysmal parking practices exhibited by certain parishioners. The meeting, though not as eventful as I my have led you to believe it would be, was definitely a beneficial experience (particularly for me). Let me tell you about it…

The churchyard was expansive and seriously lacking in directional signage, so I just began pulling on doors in search of the parish office. After several doors refused to open for me, I finally located someone who I thought might be able point me in the right direction. There was a woman loading boxes of canned food, clearly bound for a food bank, into the bed of a hatchback. She smiled as I approached her – a warm, genuine smile – and asked me if there was any way she could help me. I thanked her and asked where I might find someone in authority at the church.

As she pointed to the building containing the parish office, I noticed she had no hands. She’d just been hefting heavy boxes without that most basic luxury. I was overcome with humility – so much so that I thanked her almost as an afterthought.

In the parish office, I was greeted by Father P. He was a kindly man, probably around 60 or so years of age, who seemed very much at home in his position. He wasn’t imperious or assuming; just very… confident. He emanated an air of kindness and geniality, but at the same time possessed an unwavering and comfortable resolve (acquired, I suspect, from decades of experience and concerted practice in his holy calling). Basically, he was what I imagine every priest should be: pleasant, peaceful, welcoming, understanding, humble, concerned and, dare I say it, loving. I had no doubt I was talking to a priest who took his rather singular occupation quite seriously.

I handed Father P printouts of the photos I had taken and explained my concerns, but any remnant of the anger and frustration I had felt last Sunday morning had been duly wiped away by the priest’s grace and sincere cordiality. Indeed, something about Father P was profoundly comforting.

His brow furrowed as he shifted through the pictures. “This is troubling to me, as well, I assure you,” he said. “I do make mention of it from the pulpit on occasion, but I guess that isn’t enough for some.”

His scrutiny of the cars in the photos gave me the impression he was trying to determine precisely who in his congregation had committed the offenses.

We talked about the serious lack of adequate local law enforcement and Father P mentioned that he might have to resort to directly contacting King County’s finest. “It’s against the law and as such it is a sin,” he told me. “I will double my efforts and put a stop to it. Thank you very much for informing me.”

I left the church twelve minutes after I’d arrived and in that short time had been humbled twice. I believe I lost my laundry list of snarky questions somewhere in between those two occurrences.

Alright, well, I think I might heat up some soup before the cold medicine shuts me down for a few hours. To those who have sent me posts or are waiting on replies from me: I will get caught up on all things VOX once fire-imps stop using my chest cavity as a rumpus room and I’m back to breathing through my nose.

Ta for now, peeps.

Read and post comments

About kirkstarr

I draw pictures for a living.
This entry was posted in Can I Say Something? and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to In Case You Were Wondering (some updates)

  1. shush now says:

    I do hope you can evacuate all sharp-fingered gnomes using your innards as a playground. They are vile creatures, indeed!And as for the church/parking situation- all I can say is that I hope that the people abusing the street are duly humbled. It seems the priest has the same goal- so it's likely enough.

  2. Brown Suga' says:

    Good to know there are peeps like Father P. May his tribe increase.
    And wishing you a speedy recovery.

  3. RedScylla says:

    Now dat's the way the world should work–bring your concerns to someone who is willing to be concerned also, and willing to do something about it. A triumph of the best sort, one that doesn't require snarkiness.

  4. Yay! Peaceful resolutions rock!
    Colds, however, do not. Here's to you feeling better real soon! 🙂

  5. Lauri says:

    Ahh. This IS good. :)Being snotty is not. Get well soonest, Kirk!!!

  6. jaypo says:

    hot tea n' Nyquil n'cookies n' ((hugs)) n' you'll feel better in no time.

  7. jaypo says:

    And I'm really happy your meeting turned out so well. It turned out well because of you, Kirk, not because of them. You were willing to let go of your preconceptions and be open to different perspectives and when they were there, you went with what you observed…

  8. lauowolf says:

    Sounds as if you have my bug.Lots and lots of tea.And remember to eat something every day, even though you won't feel like it.And then some more tea.(Traditional Medicinals Throatcoat is very soothing.)And good news about the church — sounds as if you have found a neighbor there.

  9. Drude says:

    Get well soon. Funny with all the humbling experiences…

  10. Cat says:

    I hope you will have a speedy recovery!!And congrats on the situation with the church!

  11. J says:

    That's cool that your anger and frustration sort of melted away once you got there. And it's even better that Father P is going to hook it up with the law and that he understood your concerns. Awesome!!

  12. Marie says:

    I am so glad it worked out that way!
    Feel better soon my friend!

  13. CrowSeer says:

    Elaine said I should sing you this song:
    "Get well, get well soon,
    I hope you will get well."

  14. Erin says:

    If you're zonking out in front of the TV today, Sci-Fi is running Dagon, which is based on The Shadow Over Innsmouth, if you haven't seen it yet. Not the best, not the worst, when you're sick sometimes you don't care. and since you're behind me in time zone, you might be able to catch it.

  15. Kirk says:

    I'm currently watching Serenity with Panda. But I have seen Dagon before; it was on a couple months ago. And you're right: it was neither great nor terrible. The town name being changed to "Innboca" cracked me up. So perfectly droll.On a related note, I recently purchased Re-Animator on DVD. 😛 Came with a novelty syringe filled with "re-agent". Doubles as a highlighter pen.

  16. Erin says:

    Doubles as a highlighter?!? What the heck?Serenity, very good choice!

  17. CrowSeer says:

    Haven't seen the Re-Animator films, but they I may have to check them out at some point, because they sound quite funny… I was reading that there might be another sequel where he works in the White House!?
    I'll always remember Coombs' turn in The Frighteners, opposite Michael J. Fox. Personally, I think it's a shame Peter Jackson got mixed up with those Hobbits… but I doubt his bank manager would agree! Crazy cult comedies don't get the swimming pools dug, sadly…

Leave a Reply

