Kanye Was Half Right

Recall with me for a moment the time a couple years ago when Kanye West issued an impromptu declaration on NBC stating, “George Bush doesn’t care about black people.”

Well, he was right, but only partially. It would seem that George W. Bush doesn’t much care for children, either.

I have this friend – goes by Cat here at VOX – who definitely has her share of hardships. Just go read this post to get an idea of how bad it can get for an average family living in the Land of the Free.

Now, I am of the firm belief that my tax money could not be better spent than in making sure that kids like Cat’s beloved son Aaron get all the medical attention they require. Indeed, if I could divert my taxes away from children in Iraq and towards children here in my own country, I’d do it without a moment’s hesitation. Am I selfish that way? Hell, yes!

But the inarticulate rich-boy running my homeland doesn’t care about the mass on Aaron’s brain. Mr. Bush couldn’t care less that this little boy endures more hardship in a single day than he himself has suffered in his entire life. In Dubya’s mind, the literally hundreds of Absence Seizures poor Aaron has in a day are insignificant, especially when compared to, say, keeping unwanted Mexicans out of the U.S. ($4.2 Billion), or blowing up and rebuilding a foreign country that never even attacked us (currently $456 Billion).

Bush’s lack of concern will become manifest very soon when he vetoes the State Children’s Health Insurance Program (SCHIP). He will do this despite the fact that 2/3 of the country supports the proposal. He will do this even though the measure has acquired bipartisan approval. He’ll veto the bill even though it would expand the program to cover an additional 4 million children. The reasons Dubya gives for his decision are dubious, if not outright false, and lead me to the conclusion that Bush is simply apathetic to the needs of the nation’s low income children. Let me show you what I mean:

Bush claims that the bill won’t actually help the poor, stating it involves “taking a program meant to help poor children and turning it into one that covers children in households with incomes of up to $83,000 a year”. But the truth is that 70% all the children covered by the bill would be from families with incomes below 200 percent of the Federal Poverty Level (FPL) [+]. Further, of the five million uninsured children who would gain coverage under the new bill, around 80% come from families with incomes below 200 percent of the FPL.

Bush claims that SCHIP is “an incremental step toward the goal of government-run health care for every American”. But the truth is that while this is government-funded program it is NOT government-run. Under the new bill, benefits are administered by private insurers and care is provided by private doctors and nurses.

Bush claims the proposal by Congress would “move millions of American children who now have private health care into government-run health care.” But the truth is that millions of children who would be covered by the bill will end up with no insurance at all if it is vetoed. A large portion of the remaining kids will experience huge gaps in their coverage [+].

Now, it should surprise no one that Dubya continues his method of deceiving the American people. But given these particular lies and the topic they have been devised to obfuscate, the only logical conclusion is that Bush’s political and financial aspirations are more important to him than whether children like Aaron enjoy happy, healthy lives.

Be nice if he would just admit it.

Read and post comments

About kirkstarr

I draw pictures for a living.
This entry was posted in Can I Say Something? and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Kanye Was Half Right

  1. Erin says:

    I can't even form coherent sentences. All I can do is curse like a sailor out loud at no one in particular.

  2. Kirk says:

    I know what you mean. You should have seen all the expletives in this post pre-edit. It was nasty. F-ing this and G-damned that. President Chimpster brings out the worst in me, I swear.

  3. Cat says:

    Kirk, You already know how I feel about this. It makes me so mad that this IDIOT cant see how much harm he would be doing to America's children(and a couple of my own boys) by vetoing this health bill. I'm pretty sure you are right on the money. He KNOWS how much harm he would be doing but he DOESN'T CARE. Thank you for writing this. Sometimes I think you are inside my head. 😉

  4. My frustration with this gov't peaks on a daily basis.

  5. R.G. Ryan says:

    Wow. You sound very upset. I used to be upset all the time. Quite upset, indeed. Until I realized that politicians are sycophantic by nature and, darned if I wasn't putting them into office with my vote.
    It has occurred to me of late that regardless of which "side of the aisle" one gives one's allegiance, you've got that self-serving thing going on. That's what upsets me. Not health care or the lack thereof, the war in Iraq or stem cell research. It is the incontrovertible reality that no matter who I/we vote into office, nothing will ever change. I've been of both political parties and posess a profound mistrust for all of them. No, no…don't try to change my mind. It's settled. The die is cast.
    "Master's bitch" said, "My frustration with this gov't peaks on a daily basis." I would ammend that to read, "My frustration with GOVERNMENT knows no end." Okay…now I'M upset. And here I thought I was over it. Thanks! 🙂
    You're passionate. I like that in people. And…you write quite well. Blog on, friend. Blog on.

  6. Kirk says:

    Thanks for your thoughtful post, RGR. I agree, there's not a lot of good in politics. It's pretty well farged up beyond belief. And I've actually lightened up a lot on my political blogging/debating because it's always either preaching to the choir or talking to a wall, as I like to say. But some things just get my blood boiling; Bush's bald-faced lies tend to do it. Sometimes I need to lay his falsehoods bare for all to see. Dissect them like the wriggling worms they are and show everyone their putrid insides.As far as my political activity goes, it's a combination of going with the lesser evil and hope springing eternal. I honestly hope to one day have a government that is just a little less corrupt than it is today. Baby steps, I guess.

Leave a Reply

