I Know What I Like (Even If My Reasons Suck)

It’s interesting how we as individuals come to loathe certain things and love others. I’m not talking about the obvious things like severe burns and explosive orgasms; we’re all pretty much on the same page as far as those things are concerned. No, I’m talking about more subjective things like names and colors and music.

Take the name Nadine*, for example. As European female names go, it’s considered by most to be a lovely name. Some of you might even say it’s one of your favorite woman’s names. But whenever I hear it, I cringe. I dislike the name Nadine not for any qualities inherent in the name itself but because of what it represents in my mind. It represents a callous and calculated heartbreaking followed very closely by a brutal realization. To this day, I can’t hear the name without feeling just a small stab of the pain of betrayal. My feelings of affection for Nadine have long since died away, but the residue of her treachery still causes me grief. So much so, for example, that if the customer service rep on the other end of the line introduces herself as Nadine, I’m already on the defensive.

It’s not rational, of course, but that’s my point. Many of us have deep-seated opinions about things based on completely irrational conclusions. My art director told me about a guy he once worked for who would continually reject any design that contained the colors green and yellow in tandem with one another. As any graphic designer knows, green and yellow often contrast with each other very well and can make for some rather eye-catching layouts. So why would the head of a graphic design department unfailingly reject anything with those two colors? It turned out that green and yellow had been his high school colors and that he had been tormented nonstop from his sophomore year on. Understandably, he had nothing but terrible memories of high school and that’s all it took for the green/yellow combination to be forever shunned in his mind.

Have you ever heard a song, really liked it, and then had it completely ruined for you by, say, an accompanying video that was insultingly poor? Or conversely, is there a song that like even more because the video is so cool? For me, the former occurs with enough frequency that I tend to get a bit surly when Karin and Amanda announce they have a video they want me to see. “No!” I’ll shrilly cry, “I like that song! Please don’t make me watch the video! Don’t you understand? I like that song! I want to keep liking that song! Aaaaaiiiieeee! Noooooo!”

If we’re honest with ourselves, we can find those likes and dislikes of ours that have fully irrational bases. I dislike a particular woman’s name because the only woman I ever knew by that name tore my heart to bits. I like certain songs even more simply because their videos are so damn cool and hate others because their videos suck. And I’m sure that if I held the position of judge at a beauty contest and had to pick between two equally qualified ladies, I’m going to choose the one whose bikini happens to be shiny

…unless, of course, her name is Nadine.

*Name may have been changed to avoid drama within my 'hood. Then again, it may not have. But it probably was. Or was it?

Read and post comments

About kirkstarr

I draw pictures for a living.
This entry was posted in Can I Say Something? and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I Know What I Like (Even If My Reasons Suck)

  1. I-Luv-Eeyore says:

    I agree. There are several names and songs out there that I don't like simply because of the emotional baggage that comes along with them. Randy, Kenny, Ernie (hard to like Bert and Ernie on Sesame Street)….A certain Air Supply song…
    My names have not been changed….and I can only hope that my real name isn't the real name you changed or didn't change… 🙂

  2. I hate the name Nadine too. But I have perfectly sound reasons for disliking it. It is the worst possible sounding name in Australia. The general and broad Australian accents have a tendency to be quite nasal, and 'Naaaaay-DEEEEEN' combines all the worst possible consonants and vowel sounds within our dialect. When spoken by the soft plumby accent of Geoffrey Rush it might sound okay. When screeched by any other Australian it sounds arse.

  3. Crush says:

    I dislike the name Nadine as well! Seriously.
    (But then, I also love severe burns and loathe explosive orgasms!)

  4. lizzy says:

    lol i think you are right, and yeah i have had songs ruined for me by a video (one immediately comes to mind: november rain). i think you need a certain amount of sensitivity in order for that to happen though. most people don't care.

  5. G says:

    I have not even read your blog heading yet.
    I have already added you as a neighbour. Your header did it all for me. You get an A++ for grabbing 100% of a very tiny and weird market 🙂
    Now I'm off to read what you write.
    G.

  6. Miz Blo says:

    "one immediately comes to mind: november rain"
    That video made me just hate the band.
    Nadine, lets put the sound of that name in the southern context shal we. Naydeenn. Um yeah I can understand Kirk.

  7. one immediately comes to mind: november rainOH GOD YES! When Kirk mentioned videos ruining songs I couldn't think of a single time I'd had that happened to me. Then you mentioned November Rain. My god that video sucked! It sucked like a vacuum cleaner orbiting a black hole. Arghhhhh. Just thinking about it makes my eyes bleed all over again. It put me off the song, the band, and music in general.

  8. Kirk says:

    Yeah, I wish I'd have thought of November Rain when I wrote the post because it is the quintessential example of a decent song being destroyed by a video.Good call by lizzy.

  9. lizzy says:

    it didn't put me off the band but it made me cringe and not in a small way either lol. i still love the guns. the new incarnation maybe even more.

Leave a Reply

