Harbingers of Cthulhu’s Return I: Promachoteuthis sulcus

You know the stars are soon to be right for Great Cthulhu’s rising when…

…they start pulling up squids with mouths filled with human-like teeth!

Now, we all know R’lyeh is somewhere at the bottom of the Pacific Ocean, so you must not let the fact this evil little minion was plucked out of the Atlantic juke you into complacency. Prepare yourselves! Dread Cthulhu’s imminent return is close at hand! Look again at that squid's chompers and know it to be true!

Via BoingBoing

Read and post comments

About kirkstarr

I draw pictures for a living.
This entry was posted in Can I Say Something? and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Harbingers of Cthulhu’s Return I: Promachoteuthis sulcus

  1. Laurie says:

    *cue shrieking violins*

  2. lauowolf says:

    I'm not going to start talking about calimari in front of this guy any time soon.

  3. Giraffe says:

    I am scared. Please do not let the scary squid monster eat me.

  4. I think the little sucker things at the base of the tentacles that look like eyes make it look super creepy!

  5. Lorelei says:

    Oh sweet god that freaks the everloving shit out of me. Seriously, everytime I catch a glance at that photo, I get the shivers. Kirk, I'm SCARED!

  6. little miao says:

    Eeeek! Eeeeeeek!This reminds me, Papa Miao visited last weekend, and since I know he's read Lovecraft all his life, I asked him if he had ever heard of Cthulhu. He stared at me blankly until I said "this thing lives in the ocean and looks kind of scary". He said something about the "Old Ones", but the second thing he said was "Cthulhu". Only he pronounced it in such a way that I can't reproduce it. It reminded me of your pronunciation post from a while back. It sounded scary, just the sort of noise you'd expect to issue from that gaping, toothy maw in the photo.

Leave a Reply

