When the Warp Zone Finds You

The world? She is very small. Even smaller now that we have teh internets. I’m sure we’re all in full agreement on this particular notion, but this morning I received a comment that gave it significantly more substance, at least for me personally.

As some of you know, I worked for Nintendo between 1989 and 1995 as a Game Play Counselor (GPC), playing games and helping other people play theirs. In that time, I answered hundreds of thousands of questions on everything from Legend of Zelda to Legacy of the Wizard; from Contra to Clu-Clu Land. Much of that game play help was provided in the form of letters responding to players who had chosen to write in.

One of those people was a guy named Brian, from whom I received the afore-mentioned comment. Among other things, Brian writes a blog called The Morning Toast and his post today describes how he recently came across some old letters he’d received from various GPCs back in the early 90s.

One of those letters was from me…

Read all about it here: http://www.morningtoast.com/index.php/2007/12/the-lost-letters-from-nintendo/

Brian’s blog appears to focus on many things I love: LEGO, Hot Wheels, live music, zombies, etc. So, hey, I acquired a new bookmark in addition to being reconnected with a very nostalgic chunk of my past. Bonus!

Brian also deserves a bonus, don’t you think? Yes, yes he does. I think I might just have to send him some nifty Nintendo-related things I’ve saved all these years. I have some rare Nintendo Power promotional items as well as a pin I wore at the 1992 Consumer Electronics Show (CES) in Chicago. It’s a special pin, and I’ll tell you why…

This was the CES at which Nintendo officially announced the Super FX chip for the Super Nintendo Entertainment System (SNES). They had a record-setting booth – something like 75,000 square feet – and I was sent along, of course, to answer game play questions and talk about the new chip and the upcoming game StarFox. The pin is one of those that switch between two images, the image you see depending on the angle at which you view the surface of the pin. One image says “ASK ME ABOUT!” and the other depicts the StarFox logo with Fox McCloud looking all smug. I was required to wear this pin, but in truth no one really needed any coaxing to talk about the groundbreaking new chip for the SNES.

Anyway, Brian, if you’re interested in collecting a few uncommon Nintendo artifacts from back when the PlayStation was still a mere twinkle in Sony’s eye, shoot me a PM letting me know where to send them and they’re yours.

And thanks again for the nostalgic sojourn.

Read and post comments

About kirkstarr

I draw pictures for a living.
This entry was posted in Can I Say Something? and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to When the Warp Zone Finds You

  1. IG says:

    How awesome is that! Thanks for sharing the warm geekfuzzy. 🙂

  2. jaypo says:

    That is so cool, Kirk! You were a part of techno-gaming-history!

  3. Flutter Box says:

    i'm so jealous! i'd LOVE to have a job like that! lol

  4. bouche says:

    That's pretty cool. If I knew you did what you did back when you did it… I might have not had to go to summer school due to my obsessive compulsive urge to beat Super Mario 2, The Legend of Zelda, and Metroid. Heh, Who am I kidding, I might have beat those earlier and moved on to other NES games to obsess about!

  5. bouche says:

    Gosh, I could have phrased that better.

  6. Brown Suga' says:

    Wow, that's so insanely cool and heartwarming at the same time!

  7. CrowSeer says:

    Ah, StarFox… good times! I didn't have a SNES myself, but my friend Nick did and so we'd often get to play on it while not role-playing (if our characters separated or, in my case, got killed for being irritating). Secrets of Mana and that Bomberman thing were pretty much our obsession, back then. Sigh…
    Meanwhile… how cool would Lego zombies be?

  8. Wow! Thanks! PM on the way. 🙂 I think you may underestimate the coolness factor you had between '89 and '94…little white suburban kids like myself would have killed for that job. Frankly, I might stillAnd on the topic of LEGOs…here's what happens when you have a bucket full of LEGOs, three engineers in the same office, and a lot of "lunch" breaks:http://www.morningtoast.com/index.php/2006/08/the-lego-catapult/

Leave a Reply

