Latent Sexist Tendencies Revealed During Christmas Discourse

For some reason I can’t put my finger on, the topic of Santa’s elves came up in conversation here in the CimC household the other day. I don’t recall the exact points we were discussing, but it occurred to me during the conversation that I had always pictured Santa’s elves to be all male. I couldn’t recall ever consciously thinking about it, but now I suddenly realized that I had never, ever pictured a female elf in Santa’s toy workshop.

Now, certainly there had to be females about, right? But having grown up watching Christmas cartoons during the early seventies, I don’t think I was ever shown girl elves making toys. I think I was left to assume they were in the kitchen with Mrs. Claus making cookies, but again, I never gave it that much thought before.

So now I’m left to wonder if it was the crappy depictions of Santa’s workshop or if I was a little four-year-old sexist.

Fortunately, there is research I can do.

Read and post comments

About kirkstarr

I draw pictures for a living.
This entry was posted in Can I Say Something? and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Latent Sexist Tendencies Revealed During Christmas Discourse

  1. Matthew 25 says:

    I believe the female elves must work with Ms. Claus. Elves also have a tendency to be gay or lesbian because they have overbearing mothers and absent fathers. Or is it the other way around. 😉 Hence the reason you rarely see male and female elves together.

  2. SweetMisery says:

    Yes I agree the females were baking cookies and making doll dresses. No doubt to cute to be seen.

  3. SweetMisery says:

    Also have to add here that I have been a Santa's helper and elf on many occasion and if a had a scanner I would show you. snicker……

  4. Erin says:

    Oh I am so buying that DVD Box Set.I LOVE Bumble the Abominable Snowman. LOVE HIM.Island of Misfit Toys. Oh I love them too!!!

  5. tom says:

    Come to think of it, I believe there was only the weird little "dolly for Sue" representing the fairer sex on the Island of Misfit Toys, and Mrs Claus was the only female human in Santa's sweatshop. Female reindeer were represented nicely, with Rudolph's mom and that fuzzy little nymphet, Clarice. Maybe the she-elves (shelves?) are in upper management at corporate headquarters. Maybe they're caring for the baby elves. Maybe, too, elves are sporophytes.

  6. Brown Suga' says:

    O HAI! I findz you dis Cthulhu kitteh.

    (Irrelevant to this post I know…)

  7. GinBaby says:

    I guess I always assumed female elves didn't exist. I guess I didn't give an appropriate amount of thought to how elves might then reproduce–asexually, I guess–but I think I also assumed that Santa's elves were immortal and thus had no great need to reproduce.
    Now that I am thinking about it, the idea of Santa's elves having intercourse is kind of nauseating me. Thanks, Kirk.

  8. CrowSeer says:

    Well, they might be hermaphrodites… having evolved past gender differences, so that they can focus solely on toy-making. Or Santa only hires eunuch elves?

  9. Jay says:

    ….or perhaps among elfen culture, due to ancient feudal restrictions held in place by the Claus Dynasty, only male elf children are held in high regard and thus female elf babies are often killed at birth or, at best, shunned by society and relegated to subservient roles. They would most likely not get the years of training necessary for skilled labor jobs like the males.

  10. §abba says:

    Well, I was raised on the claymation Rudolph, so I always thought there were female elves. *shrug*

  11. Kzinti says:

    The answer is very simple. Much like the Buhddist Monks, the Order of the Elves is a male dominated society. Of course, there are female elves, don't be silly. Just not apparent at the North Pole (Read: Temple). Consider Santa as the great Buhdda, his Elves are his busy little happy helpers (monks, servants).
    Their mantra? Innocent and happy are the children who play with toys. To walk the path to happiness, you must become one with the toys, learning to make the toys, for in making toys you will find your way to ultimate elightenment.
    Sounds like a good cult to me…

Leave a Reply

