Harbingers of Cthulhu’s Return II: Octopuses Acting Like People

OK, when the cephalopods start doing human stuff like obsessing over a prized possession, it’s time to really start considering a major freak-out.

This giant Pacific octopus, quaintly named Louis, was given a Mr. Potato Head for Christmas and tends to get rather testy whenever his handlers try to take the toy away from him.

Obviously, Great Cthulhu is preparing his minions. First, he started giving them human attributes like teeth, and now he’s working on their personalities. If he can do all this while still dead and dreaming, just imagine how crazy it’s going to be when he’s awakened! Oh, the huge manatee!

Seriously, people! If you think whackos who are willing to blow themselves up for their god are scary, just wait until you see the type of freaks who want nothing more than to be eaten alive by theirs!*

Via BoingBoing

*I apologize if my refusal to be frightened by terrorists or to give them any kind of respect is offensive to my readers. I joke about them because I think they are jokes.

Read and post comments

About kirkstarr

I draw pictures for a living.
This entry was posted in Can I Say Something? and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Harbingers of Cthulhu’s Return II: Octopuses Acting Like People

  1. Mr. Potato loves it! Look at the smile on his face!

  2. Kirk says:

    Yeah, he seems pretty happy about the situation. Clearly, Mr. Potato Head is a worshiper of the Great Old One!

  3. jaypo says:

    Thems pretty smart those octopii… really. All brain and suckers. They tell a mean joke too.

  4. shush now says:

    That is just…. *shudders*It reminds me of my toddler, which is just… *shudders*All the clutching, the stroking, the mouthing!

  5. SweetMisery says:

    Hey Mr. Potatoe head is a cool toy. It is his dammit.

  6. foxsydee says:

    My question is who decided that Mr Potato Head was a good gift for an octopus? I doubt that is on the box. Is there a guide for this type of thing? I would have no idea what to give an octopus….and Toys R Us would not be my starting point……

  7. Lauri says:

    Awwww, this is SO cute!
    What is it about octopi that reduce me to ooing and aaahing? I think they are adorable! Oh, I hope that doesn't insult Mr. Cthulu. :O
    And to think they would want a toy. Love it!
    Hey, Kirk, have you seen any of the info on the Mimic Octopus? I saw one tv show about it a few years ago…it imitated different sea species by it's movements to throw predators off.
    Fascinating!

  8. Kirk says:

    "Oh, I hope that doesn't insult Mr. Cthulu."I'm pretty sure just the existence of humans is insulting to Cthulhu. No matter, he'll eat you either way. He's not picky."Hey, Kirk, have you seen any of the info on the Mimic Octopus? I saw
    one tv show about it a few years ago…it imitated different sea
    species by it's movements to throw predators off."See!? I told you! Cthulhu's doing his thing! Now he's teaching them to imitate other life forms! According to Wiki, it actually reshapes itself by contorting its body and limbs! Oh, lord help us, it's just a matter of time now…

  9. Laurie says:

    I'm just wondering what happened to the kid who was standing by the octopus tank holding that Mr. Potato Head toy. Oh, right, the teeth. Now I guess I know.

  10. Jenn says:

    LOL
    you crack me up.

  11. Red Mosquito says:

    It's amazing he is still in one piece and hasn't been pulled apart or put back together in some odd way. Love the potato.

Leave a Reply

