New Improved Diblet! Now Harbl-Free!

Diblet just turned six months old, which of course means the time for his feline rite of passage (his cat-mitzvah, if you will) is at hand. So, with due diligence, we starved him for half a day, then Karin and I packed him into his carrier and I shuttled him off this morning to see Dr. Miller for the ceremonial removing of the harbls. Thankfully, there were no potentially exploding cardboard boxes this time around.

Diblet has never been out of the house before, so he remained rather still for the first mile. It wasn’t long, though, before he began to fuss. It was a tiny wail, but a heart wrenching one. It continued the rest of the trip, killing me just a little with each new cry.

We arrived at the vet’s office at 6:57am. I saw no reason why Dibby had to stay cooped up for an entire three minutes, so I opened the door to the carrier and let him out.

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned it before, but Diblet is the purringest kitty I have ever beheld. His motor is so loud, he rumbles. And when I opened that cat carrier door, he really started rumbling! He sprang out and started exploring the car as if it were some new kitty playground. Backseat to front to back again, buzzing like a lawnmower the entire time. Happiest. Kitty. Ever. He had no idea what was going to happen to him in a couple hours’ time.

The clinic opened up. Diblet surprisingly gave me no trouble as I put him back in the carrier. There was only one other patient in the vet’s office; a gorgeous female German Shepherd Dog was there with her owner, evidently for the same procedure as Dibby only, you know, girl style. Dibby’s no stranger to German Shepherds, as you know, and didn’t seem perturbed by the clinic at all. In fact, every time I reached in to pet him, I could feel his motor running. He was purring even as he awaited castration.

On a side note, I thought the waiting room reading material offered was rather humorous, so I snapped a quick photo with my cell phone. The Beginner’s Guide to Animal Autopsy. How… interesting and sort of creepy.

Anyway, I handed my priceless package over to the vet tech and was informed, as always, I could call around noon to see how he was doing.

I called the vet’s office on my lunch break and was informed everything had gone swimmingly and that I could pick Diblet up anytime before five.

Precisely three hours after that, I was punching out and making my way back to the vet clinic. I didn’t need to call home to know that Panda was crazy-anxious to see her kitten.

But it wasn’t just Panda who wanted to see little Diblet. DG also missed his little buddy and was quite relieved to have him home, as you can see:

One final note: It would seem that the extra $18 for the pain shot is still a hella good deal. Other than the incessant licking, you'd never know by the way he's acting that Diblet had just been separated from his nuts. It worries me a little to see him so active so soon, but it's not like he's doing a lot of jumping, so I guess he'll be alright.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About kirkstarr

I draw pictures for a living.
This entry was posted in Can I Say Something? and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to New Improved Diblet! Now Harbl-Free!

  1. Laurie says:

    Now Diblet is even more like the deej. I'm glad he had an easy time of it.

  2. Kevin Wolf says:

    Every post about your cute-ass damned kittens makes me want to get a cat of my own.

  3. Kirk says:

    "Every post about your cute-ass damned kittens makes me want to get a cat of my own."*rubs hands together* Excellennnnnnt. Everything is going according to my plan.

  4. Brown Suga' says:

    Awww, I'm glad he's back to hopping around so soon!

  5. Lurkertype says:

    awwwwwwwww!I love Diblet, and Deej, and both of them together are exponentially cute.

  6. lauowolf says:

    Thank you for paying for the pain meds.We used them for Mr. Wolf too.He's your buddy, and he deserves the best.

  7. RedScylla says:

    Awwww…Deej is so happy to have little buddy home. Glad things went well.

  8. Erin says:

    Oh I love zee kittens. Friday, my lil' one, likes to sit in my lap while I read and stare at the screen. I think she's fond of Dib and Deej.

  9. Jenn says:

    gorgeous Kirk.
    they are simply gorgeous.

  10. Jiggsyiggsy says:

    They are beautiful; glad they are your life.

  11. I could be wrong about this, so since there are so many cat-lovers who've left comments, please don't scold if I am. I was told by an alleged 'cat expert' that cats wail in cars unless you put a dark cover over their carrier. The reason for that is they focus differently than dogs do and the motion of the car makes them disoriented. Hence the wailing. The black cover over the carrier prevents them from focussing on anything whilst they are under it. I tried it with a cat I had once and it seemed to work.

  12. little miao says:

    Awwww… Awwwwwww… Awwwwwwww……! Diblet and Deej are so cute!I'm glad that Diblet's "feline rite of passage" went well.

  13. arbed says:

    what lurkertype said, exactlyedgar wails so piteously when he's in a carrier and in a car – it just kills me, although once in a while, the tone or length of the wail makes me laugh, turning quickly back to awwwwwwwpicture this: I moved halfway across the country in a u-haul – edgar sat in his carrier between me and my friend on the seat and wailed/cried/mewled the whole bloody way, and that was even with a bit of valium (in him, but I think we could have used it more)

Leave a Reply

