News & Politics QotD: Let’s Get Political

How do you usually react when people start talking politics?

I've recently declared a moratorium on debating politics because it's become painfully clear to me that I am either preaching to the choir or talking to a wall. A very selfish, arrogant, and intolerant wall.

Read and post comments

About kirkstarr

I draw pictures for a living.
This entry was posted in Can I Say Something? and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to News & Politics QotD: Let’s Get Political

  1. I have noticed this too… since the last few elections, actually. Sometimes, I will bring it up with people that I know are the choir, just so I know I am not alone and when I need to feel hope.

  2. Kevin Wolf says:

    The problem is that modern political beliefs have been winnowed down to three or four highly emotional, rigid and inflexible issues, so there is no possible room for agreement on other things.
    For instance, let's say a candidate has a very strong economic policy, BUT: how does he feel about gays? Abortion? Global warming? EEK HE'S AN INTOLERANT BIBLE-THUMPER!!! OH, NO, HE'S A GODLESS HEATHEN AL GORE-NUT!!
    I admit, I've fallen into the trap with my seething distaste for Mike Huckabee. Then again, his economic polices are also stupid.

  3. Kirk says:

    I hear you. Thankfully, I have Karin when I need the choir to preach to. But I'm so done with the political pig-wrestle.

  4. Kirk says:

    Things have become so polarized that rational discourse has completely fallen away. All I ever get is "silly liberal" this and "freedom hater" that. Bah.

  5. Lauri says:

    Amen. It is so totally ridiculous that people will not be rational, fair, sensible, caring. Human beings are pretty much wacko.Except for us, of course.

  6. Bizz says:

    What I love most is talking politics with my Grandma… NOT! I am from the south which means my grandma is from the old south. She is very stuck in her extreme conservative beliefs. I'm pretty moderate when it comes to many topics but defiantly a little more liberal that conservative but you would think, talking with my good ole Oma, that I am the Antichrist. All I get anytime I try to present my point is "oh you are just young and naive" does the fact that I am only 21 really detract from my ability to do the research necessary to find out what I believe should politically be right in the society I live in? Apparently so… oh I love old people who, in their minds, are still living in the very different world of the 50s and 60s.

  7. Austin1234 says:

    I too am coming to this conclusion.

  8. foxsydee says:

    Well said. I have felt this way for a long time.

  9. I'm starting to feel this way about all topics.

  10. gt says:

    I don't even start talking to 'Pubs about politics… When I read online forums debating about politics, I don't think it's ever possible to have rational discussion with religious freaks.

  11. CrowSeer says:

    Hee! My fave Dilbert comic strip was one where a character announced that it was a waste of time listening to other people… they're either agreeing with you, or talking nonsense. That pretty much sums it up, some days.
    Listening to my family have topical discussions is a nightmare, because they read such sensationalist, right-wing tabloid newspapers, and seem to believe every word of them… it's amazing how many subejcts they can somehow tie back into immigration! Of course, I'm no better, since I base most of my opinions on vague humanist hunches, and Woodstock nostalgia… "Why can't we all just get along… and listen to more Jefferson Airplane? Where have all the flowers gone???"

  12. stephanie says:

    here's an even scarier thought. one of my coworkers was talking to her parents – who live in the deep south – and when she mentioned barack obama, they thought she was talking about the newest terrorist on the block. literally, they have never even heard of him. and this was last week!that scared the shit out of me.

  13. Kevin Wolf says:

    Wow. My mother doesn't like Obama, and I can't even get her to verbalize why. She considers herself an open-minded person, but the fact of the matter is she can't accept the notion of a black president. She'll never admit this, of course.

  14. stephanie says:

    at least she knows who he is. they're not voting for him because he's another one of those 'bad guys' from the middle east. that being said, these are the same people who voted for bush in 2000 – and reelected him in 2004. they're also victims of katrina, displaced by the hurricane, and completed ridded of their life savings due to the lack of government help after the disaster.it kills me that there are members of the voting public who don't even take 15 minutes to learn about the handful of people vying to run the country. regardless of one's political affiliation, its their civic responsibility to – at the very least – know the candidates and have a vague idea of what each one stands for. i probably know more about huckabee, mccain and romney than many of the registered republicans. and trust me, i'll rather go through romney-sanctioned waterboarding than cast a ballot for any one of those ass clowns. but i still think it's important know the competition. as the adage goes, keep your friends close and your enemies closer.and let's be honest. there are a lot of people with your mother's same mentality. and (fingers crossed, knock on wood, and all that jazz) if he does get elected, it will symbolize much more than simply winning the presidency. it will be a victory for our entire country's civil rights, whether you voted for him or not.

Leave a Reply

