What the Hell, for Old Time’s Sake

I quit doing meme posts some time ago, but my friend Budd named me in a meme he recently participated in and the premise was so interesting and original that I couldn’t help but play along.

Here are the rules:

1.    Grab your nearest book.
2.    Open the book to page 123.
3.    Find the fifth sentence.
4.    Post the text of the next three sentences on your blog along with these instructions.
5.    Tag five different people.

The nearest book is the one I’m currently reading: Marley & Me, by John Grogan. I haven’t reached page 123 yet in my reading, so this will sort of be like a teaser preview for me. Here goes…

Her skin was ashen. We sat alone on the pavement like that for what seemed like hours but was in actuality, the police report later showed, about three minutes. Only gradually did I think to check on what had become of Marley.

o_O Hmm.

As you know, my dog’s name is Marley, as well. Not the same breed as the dog in the book, but still… dude needs to go find out what became of Marley!

Anyway, according to the rules, I’m supposed to tag five other people, but I see nothing that says those people will be beset by various plagues if they fail to heed the call of the Book Meme. So, you know, “optional” is the key idea here.

So, in no particular order:

Crowseer

Lurkertype

Red Mosquito

Gunderson Bee

arbed

Read and post comments

About kirkstarr

I draw pictures for a living.
This entry was posted in Can I Say Something? and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to What the Hell, for Old Time’s Sake

  1. Kevin Wolf says:

    I see you very wisely did not tag me. Good thinking. My vengeance would have been legendary.

  2. Kirk says:

    I nearly did. I mean it was close. But then rational thought returned and you were right out.You're welcome.

  3. Kevin Wolf says:

    I'm actually not sure which book is technically closest to my desk, anyway. I have bookshelf right there, with a lot of books on it, so I would basically be choosing whichever one will make me look the coolest. Probably that James Ellroy right there. Which just MIGHT be the actual closest one. Or wait…which corner of my desk should I measure from?
    You see? Impossible.

  4. Auds says:

    This seemed like an interesting meme but for me to post more than one meme in day seemed unsavory. So I'm just going to post the result here, besides I need to respond to posts more.From Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers by Mary Roach: "To make a long story short, the catapulted guinea pigs' lungs looked a lot like the Comet passengers' lungs. The researchers concluded that the planes had broken apart at altitude, spilling most of their human contents into the sea. To figure out exactly where the fuselage had broken apart, they looked at whether the passengers had been clothed or naked when pulled from the sea."

  5. arbed says:

    haha – easy, because it's already done <cue spooky music>

  6. arbed says:

    darn, if I had known you hate to be tagged for memes, I would have broken my usual "not tagging anyone in particular" stance and tagged you just because

  7. Kevin Wolf says:

    I hate being tagged, yet I am always secretly disappointed when I'm not.
    I don't get it either.

  8. Budd says:

    I usually hate memes, but book ones let you sneak into someones house and check out what they are reading. This one even gives you a sneak peak at page 123. I constantly wonder what is on page 123 of every book, especially ones that are not 123 pages long.

  9. Kirk says:

    Gah! That's what I get for not checking the people I tagged first!

  10. Kirk says:

    "I hate being tagged, yet I am always secretly disappointed when I'm not.
    I don't get it either."
    I figured with how much you hate QotDs and all… but you could always take arbed's place since she'd already done it. If you wanted.

  11. Kevin Wolf says:

    But I hate it. You SEE? This is my torment.

  12. arbed says:

    <double snicker>

  13. I did mine too. Mine was Life of Pi. 🙂 Marley and Me is a great read. I just gave it to my kid actually. I think he'd like it. Anyone with dogs would like it. Speaking of dog books, I'm also reading A Dog Year by Jon Katz. It's really good. 🙂

  14. Lurkertype says:

    meeeeeee toooooooooooo. (more spooky music)

  15. I-Luv-Eeyore says:

    I'm glad you didn't tag me. The closest book at the moment is not in English. I'd have to wait to get back to the hotel sometime tonight (for me—morning for you)—-but once I get back tonight I'm busy packing and getting ready for our flight tonight to Paris. My trip in Hyderabad, India is coming to a fast close. I hate it as I did not get my work anywhere near complete, and I find the people absolutely fascinating!

  16. CrowSeer says:

    Sorry, dude. I have also paid my dues, tag-wise… hee-yah… mine was the dictionary cuz I'm an insecure word-geek, and have one in easy reach wherever I go!

  17. Kirk says:

    "Mine was Life of Pi."Incredible book. I just remembered I was supposed to write a review of that book for someone. A lot of people have mixed feelings about it, myself included, but there's no denying it's a well put together story with a rather notable ending. Are you currently reading it? If so, we'll have to discuss it after you finish it. 🙂

  18. Kirk says:

    And how sweet are you to take the time to pop in here whilst in India!? 🙂 I'll go have a look at your VOX and see what you've posted.Have a safe and relaxing trip!

  19. Kirk says:

    Clearly, I just suck at tagging people. >_< I'm pretty sure that's one of the reasons I stopped doing these.

Leave a Reply

