You Can’t Go Swimming in a Football Pool

So the numbers for the office Super Bowl pool were just drawn and I have to say I could have done a lot worse.

Now, before any of my peeps start lecturing me, I want you to know that according to MSNBC:

Q. Are office pools legal?
A: Yes, provided no one except the winner or winners benefit. A sports pool in an office is not illegal as long as nobody is taking a profit from the activity. If $500 is bet, then someone — or some group of people — must win $500. Whoever takes a cut or a percentage of the bet can be prosecuted.

This baby is being run totally above board. I’m going to legally win a whole big bunch of money. You watch.

Read and post comments

About kirkstarr

I draw pictures for a living.
This entry was posted in Can I Say Something? and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to You Can’t Go Swimming in a Football Pool

  1. SweetMisery says:

    good luck. I use to love to get in these pools when I worked. make the game a lot more fun.

  2. I-Luv-Eeyore says:

    Cool! I hope you win lots o'moola!
    I don't need an office pool for me to get excited about this game. The Patriots have been my team since the early 70's.

  3. Kirk says:

    "The Patriots have been my team since the early 70's."And if they win, they'll make football history! ^_^

  4. I love that they need to clarify that office pools are legal in the USA and how they need to operate to stay above the law. Australians on the other hand would bet on two flies crawling up a wall whether it's legal or not. I don't think anyone knows what constitutes 'legal' or 'illegal' gambling here, given the legal gambling is so prolific. The only thing most Aussies know is that two-up is only legal on ANZAC day because two-up was played by the diggers in WWI and is therefore sacred. Yes, we are so gambling obsessed we even have sacred gambling.Good luck with the office pool. Hope you legally win a whole bunch of money!

  5. jaypo says:

    And will you post about whatever new toy you get with the moola?

  6. Kirk says:

    "And will you post about whatever new toy you get with the moola?"Sure! Depending on how much I win, it will either be a set of hanging shelves for our DVDs, a new toy for the kittehs to play on, or absolutely nothing. :)The only caveat is that the square in which my name is written in black (top left) is DG's square, so if that one wins, I pretty much have to spend it on a cat toy or catnip.

  7. Crush says:

    those are some pretty good numbers for a random number pool…I'd wager that you win something during the course of the game. Maybe I'll make a Vox 'sub-pool' with odds on whether you win some moolah or not!

  8. Carlisa says:

    I LOVE football pools! I tied first place one year with my bf's boss' son. We bet on every game that year, though. It was so much fun. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

