A Wise Man Once Said… (Part 2)

I guess this is as good a time as any for Vastly Ineloquent Wisdom, The Sequel. If you missed the first installment, wherein the rationale for this silly exercise is explained, you might be interested in going here first. But possibly not. Up to you.

Anyway, last time we focused on the horse-sense of an old coworker of mine on the assembly line at Kenworth. Today we’re going to focus on my dad, who probably had more colorful expressions than anyone else I’ve ever known. And when I say “colorful”, I mean “in hysterically poor taste”.

Careful What You Wish For

Like most kids, I was prone to lamenting how lame my life was in comparison to other kids’ lives. As a part of this self-deprecating regimen, I’d do a lot of wishing for stuff. I wish dad would let me have a Slip-n-Slide like Tommy’s! I wish my mom would buy pre-sweetened cereals like Kelly’s mom does! I wish I had a foreskin like Lucas!

I seldom got what I wished for, but that did nothing to wear out my desire for things I couldn’t have. So I kept right on wishing for stuff and my dad kept at the ready a lovely expression to cover his bases in the event that my desires were flung his way. If I made a wish in his general direction, he’d dryly say, “Well, wish in one hand and shit in the other and see which one fills up faster.”

After I’d gotten past the fact that my dad had just told me to start defecating on myself, I got permanently stuck on a small flaw in the wording. He had said to “wish in one hand”, not to “make wishes and fill the hand with the successful results of same”. So in the end, the expression was pointless to me, because I could certainly come up with more wishes in a set period of time than I could handfuls of feces. And when I helpfully tried to explain this flaw to my dad, it only served to make him even less likely to heed my wish. At least there was irony as a consolation.

Words of Wisdom: Wish in one hand and shit in the other and see which one fills up faster.

Translation: Your excrement will always be more plentiful than your realized desires.

Not-So-Obvious Lessons: “It’s a waste of time to ask dad for a swimming pool,“ and “To some, brevity is more important than accuracy.”

Read and post comments

About kirkstarr

I draw pictures for a living.
This entry was posted in Can I Say Something? and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Wise Man Once Said… (Part 2)

  1. SweetMisery says:

    This was a very popular statement around my house also. I didn't think about it I just knew I wasn't getting what I wanted. lol

  2. shush now says:

    *lol* My mom, when I complained about the accuracy of said statement, said, "wishes are ethereal and shit is solid".I've always marveled at how someone could be so clever and well spoken and crude all at once. I've also been told I take after her. 🙂

  3. Budd says:

    We always got the Rolling Stones answer. "You can't always get what you want! You can try some time, and you just might find, you get what you need."

  4. tom says:

    So, is there some correlation between presweetened slip-and-slide foreskins and shit in your hand? Sorry, I just awoke from a nap, and I still have post-sleep eye boogers, so maybe I read it wrong…;-)

  5. Here's the best crude advice I've ever heard any father say to his son. Luckily it wasn't my husband saying it to our sons, though:
    "Your signature and your prick- watch where you put them."

  6. snoringKatZ says:

    The first time I heard that was from a friend and I was 27 at the time. At my (childhood) house, the phrase was "Yeah, people in jail want to get out…" Funny how we learn so early and often that what we want doesn't matter one bit. Seems to have worked well to prepare me for my future 🙂

  7. Timshel says:

    at least you didn't progress to defecating in your hand…just for fun.

  8. lizzy says:

    haha add that one to world-wide pearls of expression because this one i heard all the time growing up too. seems like my dad and your dad had stuff in common lol.

Leave a Reply

