Technology and Child Development

Are kids today growing up too fast as a result of the numerous sociological and intellectual implications of the near exponential growth we're seeing in technology?

You decide:

Read and post comments

About kirkstarr

I draw pictures for a living.
This entry was posted in Can I Say Something? and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Technology and Child Development

  1. Scott says:

    What the hell?! Looks like a lot more fun than my childhood… πŸ˜€

  2. snoringKatZ says:

    The one in the blue jacket with the camera and his mouth open… that's my favorite!

  3. Jenn says:

    Aaaahhhh…..to be a child again. πŸ˜‰

  4. Steve Betz says:

    I'd like to volunteer to be a teacher's aid. Please.

  5. Auds says:

    That's horrendous. What the hell was she thinking? Even if she wasn't bending her legs that's entirely too short.
    I mean, are those kids really going to be harmed or altered for life because of that, probably not. It's the general lax attitude to keeping childhood ideals intact that bugs me. Just the amount of desensitization and nobody really seems to care anymore. Maybe there's the feeling that nothing can be done to protect innocence anymore. I don't know, but just giving up on it seems so wrong to me.

  6. Kirk says:

    I know the pithiness of this post makes it seem glib (I could easily have cranked out a thousand serious words on the subject), but the truth is I actually felt guilty laughing at this photo. It's hysterical and sad all at the same time.

  7. jaypo says:

    I don't know if it's a matter of protecting "innocence" or cultivating respect for woman, y'know?? If it were some dude honking down the stairs packed in a speedo and a crowd of 10-12 yr old girls…

  8. Kirk says:

    Quite right. I don't think our points are unrelated, jaypo.When I was eleven (which I'm guessing is the age of these boys), I wouldn't have even known what I was taking a picture of. There was no Urban Dictionary to enlighten me to the meanings of words the high-school kids were throwing about. I couldn't just Google up images of slutty co-eds. If anything, I'd have been sort of embarrassed for the lady.I think it's vastly fascinating that parents are so busy (thanks, in a large part to technology) that they often forgo basic parenting (in lieu of technology) allowing their children to be parented by whatever entities they encounter (often via technology). The boys in that photo are clearly in touch with both technology and their sexuality.I don't want to give the impression I'm an anti-technology prude. But clearly, kids today are growing up fast and I think the photo above implicates technology to some degree, even if only as a scapegoat for bad parenting.

  9. jaypo says:

    I don't want to give the impression I'm an anti-technology prude.LOL, Kirk! As if I'd ever think that of you!What if technology reflects more of where we are rather than the other way around…?? That's an interesting thought.And, omg, I did NOT mean to type "woman"! Sounds like some old-timey Subject Heading in the library catalog (which it was at one time, btw). I meant "women."

  10. grrrace says:

    this picture is hilarious… sad, but hilarious…what IS this event? i can't think of a single event that this woman would be at that would be appropriate for kids this age! hehehe.

  11. Kirk says:

    "…what IS this event?"I wish I knew. I found the pic on the 'net somewhere and it had no info with it. No one ever dressed like that at any grade school function I ever attended.

  12. grrrace says:

    it's the best school function they will ever attend in their lives. hehe.

  13. Auds says:

    I mean yea, some of the faces in that audience are priceless. Just some other examples of exposure I don't quite agree with have been bugging me lately and predisposed me to the more serious reply. =)

Leave a Reply

