In the Water, See it Swimmin’

This song came out when I was in college. I cannot believe it's twenty years old now. What an incredible tune and it's been covered by gobs and gobs of people. Go ahead and hit play. When it's over, feel free to hit play again. And again. No one's going to blame you.

Read and post comments

About kirkstarr

I draw pictures for a living.
This entry was posted in Can I Say Something? and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to In the Water, See it Swimmin’

  1. my husband loves this song!!!

  2. MoonCat says:

    Thank you. I love this song. 🙂

  3. Jenn says:

    OMG.I *heart* the pixies.great song.

  4. uncagedbird says:

    Love the Pixies. Love this song. Thanks for posting. Though I've had Down To the Well in my head all day. In fact, I think I need a LoD post. 😉

  5. Oh, that brings back the memories. Thank you!

  6. bouche says:

    Wow. I haven't heard this before (or prob any of the Pixies stuff). I heard some familiar bits in the song and I know I've heard "where is my mind" in a song I loved that was more recent. I finally remembered:M.I.A. – $20It's neat (or frightening depending on perspective) to hear influences bubble up (rather obviously) in music. :-p

  7. W♥M says:

    yay for pixies!

  8. skittlefish says:

    I love this song, and these days I always associate it with the ending scene of the movie Fight Club. Fabulous.

  9. CrowSeer says:

    Yep, yep… it's a great song in its own right, but with the Fight Club and MIA connections, it just gets cooler and cooler…

  10. Kirk says:

    The fact Placebo does it live (and with Frank Black on stage with them, no less) on their DVD is coolest of all. If you're a Placebo fan, that is. Which I am. Yay for me.

  11. Kirk says:

    "It's neat (or frightening depending on perspective) to hear influences bubble up (rather obviously) in music." Yes, it can make you feel even more of a connection if you yourself were also influenced/inspired by the same artists you're hearing come out in the new music you're hearing.

  12. grrrace says:

    ooho, looooooove the pixies. saw them at coachella one year. they sounded awesome, of course.

  13. Brown Suga' says:

    HEY!!! Wasn't this the song at the end of Fight Club?

  14. Phaedrus says:

    I have always loved this song too. It's cool too to know that the Pixies were a huge influence on Kurt Cobaine.

Leave a Reply

