It’s All Just Guesses

Most people find optical illusions to be enjoyable, albeit somewhat masochistically. A few of you reading this do not like them one tiny bit, and that’s totally cool. I think everyone, regardless of where they stand on the issue, will enjoy this nifty scientific discovery.

Evidently, our brain tries to make up for the one-tenth of a second lag that occurs between the time light hits the retinas and it is able to translate the data by predicting what the result will be. Put another way, your brain gives its best guess to make up for the time it needs to interpret what your eyes are seeing. It’s like you’re always being shown your brain’s forecast for what will happen one-tenth of a second from any given moment.

So, when you look at an optical illusion like the one at right, you see things incorrectly – in this case the straight red lines appear bent – because your brain is being tricked into making bad guesses.

Stupid brains! Think they’re so smart. The lines are clearly bent! I mean straight! The lines are… Oh, nevermind.

Read and post comments

About kirkstarr

I draw pictures for a living.
This entry was posted in Can I Say Something? and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It’s All Just Guesses

  1. Steve Betz says:

    Very good. As a nerd, I really like those types of things. I can force myself to make the middle lines straight — but only for a short time. Crazy.

  2. jaypo says:

    I adore optical illusions! Here's an eyeful (I posted last year).

  3. Lauri says:

    Aaaaah, as everyone knows, I LOVE brains! Braaaaaaains!I find it miraculous that our brains do this…and who knows what else they are up to when we're not looking.

Leave a Reply

