Candace Knilans is All Woman

Maybe you’ve seen this already; maybe you haven’t. It’s over a week old, but I feel the need to record it here because my high regard for outstanding women (not to mention my undying fetish for high heel pumps) dictates that I openly show my appreciation for such events, even when they don’t directly affect me.

What am I on about? Have a look at this awesome photograph taken by Rich-Joseph Facun for The Virginian-Pilot.

“Candace Knilans waits for her husband, Petty Officer 3rd Class John Knilans, to disembark from the carrier Harry S. Truman on Wednesday at Norfolk Naval Station after the strike group’s seven-month deployment ended.”

Now, let me just say that there would be nothing more appealing to me after a seven-month absence than to see Karin waiting for me in a pair of hot pink stiletto pumps. Ms. Knilans is a woman who knows how to make her man feel like the luckiest snuvabitch alive and this photograph proves that fact. It allows any man gazing at it to vicariously enjoy that feeling of being missed, loved, wanted.

Interestingly, many comments I’ve read regarding this photograph take negative note of the fact the shoes appear to be brand new (judging by the pristine heel tips and the price tag that can be seen on the bottom of the right pump).

To me, the notion that Ms. Knilans purchased a new pair of sexy shoes solely for the homecoming event only serves to make the scenario even more transcendent. She wanted to look hot for her husband and nothing in her closet was good enough to convey how much she’d missed him, how much she needed him near her. So she went out and bought the brightest, sexiest shoes she could find. I’m willing to bet P.O. Knilans more than appreciated his wife’s effort.

Other commenters seemed to think the photograph was outright sexist. One woman even went so far as to write to the paper to let them know she felt the photo “conveys a message that military wives are cheap and trashy”. A silly generalization if ever there was one. By that logic, a photo of Stephen Hawking in his wheelchair conveys a message that all quantum physicists are genetically inferior. Bah. I suspect women who find this image sexist have deeper issues than a general aversion to stereotypical gender roles. The day a woman wanting to look sexy for her husband is universally considered sexist is the day human sexual liberty swallows itself whole and the universe becomes a dark place indeed.

So ladies, go ahead and wear those fuck me pumps if the mood grabs you. I, for one, will not call you sexist nor will I chastise you for trying too hard. Hell, it’ll be all I can do to keep from applauding you.

For more details on this story, click here and here to get SmartBitch’s take on it.*

*No, I don’t read trashy romance novels. This is, in fact, the first time I’ve encountered SmartBitch’s blog. Sorry to disappoint.

Read and post comments

About kirkstarr

I draw pictures for a living.
This entry was posted in Can I Say Something? and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Candace Knilans is All Woman

  1. Jay says:

    I'd bet that the women who wrote in complaining about the implications of the photo and its gross sexualization of the military wife image etc etc were right in line to see Sex and the City when it opened at their local AMC.I'm just saying.

  2. AmyH says:

    I think it's really sweet to see her waiting, anxiously, and trying to look as sexy as possible for her husband. Even this jaded commitment-phobe thinks she's awesome.
    Pictures like this give me hope that love and marriage can exist together out there after all.
    Thanks for the post!

  3. RedScylla says:

    All military wives are trashy when they've been separated from their husbands for months and months. Consider me: radical feminist, kept my own name when I got married, have advanced college degrees. When Hubbicula came home from some crazy deployment in the desert, I went to meet him in tight pants, a slutty shirt and high-heeled shoes I could barely walk in. Longest car ride home in history.

  4. Bookmole says:

    I so would have worn those shoes – except for not being able to stand or walk in them – and probably red, rather than pink. They look great on her, though – her and her little ankle tat – I like that too.Unfortunately for the sexy shoe brigade, I read The Female Eunuch at a young and impressionable age, and threw out the stilettos and heels for comfier, easier to run in, flats.I think I lost out.But I have better ankles and hips now – it's a trade off.

  5. IG says:

    All military wives are trashy when they've been separated from their husbands for months and months.Ha! Or any wives who are separated from their husbands for any length of time! Mr. IG took off for work for a month, once. I thought I'd be fine but at around the 2-week mark I started to feel a little crabby. At the 3-week mark I was thinking we should consider seeing other people. The reunion, when it finally happened, was epic and very trashy.

  6. Kirk says:

    "I'm just saying." And I'm just totally agreeing with you. You make an excellent point, my friend.

  7. Kirk says:

    "Pictures like this give me hope that love and marriage can exist together out there after all."That's really what's so great about this shot. I love the shoes, the ankle tattoo, the sexy little pose… but it's the implication of all those things that is just so awesome. What person doesn't crave that? People who criticized this photo must be very unhappy indeed.

  8. Steve Betz says:

    Wait — what's wrong with dressing-to-impress for your spouse/boyfriend/girlfriend at anytime?? When we step out on the town, I always want to look good (well, as good as possible) for The Beloved. It always makes me sad to see a couple out on a date where the girl has worked really hard to dress nicely, and the guy looks like he picked up whatever was on the floor near his clothes hamper and didn't smell that bad.
    Great perspective shot, to boot.

  9. Kirk says:

    "When Hubbicula came home from some crazy deployment in the desert, I went to meet him in tight pants, a slutty shirt and high-heeled shoes I could barely walk in."Right on, RedZ! Karin's a very liberated woman, too, but that doesn't mean she doesn't enjoy the hell out of her femininity. It's like I get the best of both worlds.Tell me this, though: what is the male equivalent? How can we guys present ourselves in the same hotness vein a Ms. Knilans? Our shoes look stupid. Must we wear neckties?"Longest car ride home in history." Ha! I bet.

  10. RedScylla says:

    I dunno, the shoes are a lost cause, but suits are nice. Hubbicula looks hot in a suit, but he usually skips the tie. Of course, I really prefer him in his super-tight Ramones t-shirt, but hey…it all depends.

  11. Kirk says:

    "But I have better ankles and hips now – it's a trade off." Quite right. I have this x-ray photo on my hard-drive somewhere of the feet of a middle-aged woman who wore high-heels her whole adult life. It's nothing short of disturbing how deformed the bones in her feet are. There is a definite price to pay for wearing high heels all the time. Best to wear them when you're engaged in activities that don't require much walking (if you know what I mean). 😛

  12. Kirk says:

    "At the 3-week mark I was thinking we should consider seeing other people." That line made me spit my water all over. Too funny.

  13. Kirk says:

    "It always makes me sad to see a couple out on a date where the girl has worked really hard to dress nicely, and the guy looks like he picked up whatever was on the floor near his clothes hamper and didn't smell that bad."Agreed, Steve. Cue Joe Jackson: Pretty women out walking with gorillas down my street…

  14. Bookmole says:

    Whatever, just make an effort. Smell nice. Suits are good, but clean, neat, taken time over counts for a lot. For some women, guys having a lot of money makes up for a a shit load f deficiencies – I can understand that, but want none of it for myself.And no fluorescent pinks or traffic light reds. Those are for us!

  15. K. says:

    One of the comments I read said something about the tattoo on the ankle being "trashy." This is the second tattooed ankle I've seen today and to me, it doesn't say trashy at all. I actually quite like it.
    The color of the shoes does not say trashy. The fact that they've got a price tag (I've done that a thousand times) does not say trashy. It just says that a lady really wanted to make her husband's homecoming special.
    Frankly, this photo was beautifully executed in both technical and compositional aspects, and it really does say quite a lot.

  16. brownamazon says:

    Male equivalent: nice cologne. Wear those jeans she says make your butt look hot. A nice jacket with a t-shirt and a hot pair of dark wash or black jeans…mmmm.
    Oh, and please clip your damn toenails.

  17. Yoj says:

    As a former Navy wife myself, I can tell you this- Her husband probably pointed her out lickity split with those shoes on. Sometimes us Navy wives would wear something specific so our husbands could locate us while on the ship, waiting for it to dock. I wore red pumps, in case you were wondering. 🙂

  18. Kirk says:

    "Frankly, this photo was beautifully executed in both technical and compositional aspects, and it really does say quite a lot." Yup. Worth far more than a thousand words, in my opinion. Wish I'd taken it.

  19. Kirk says:

    "…and please clip your damn toenails." Yeah, I noticed this morning it needed to be done and skipped it anyway. How did you know!? I'm a little freaked out. 😛

  20. Kirk says:

    "I'm more worried about people who don't want to be sexy for their returning SO…"Exactly! You hit the nail square on the head, skittlefish.

  21. Kirk says:

    "Sometimes us Navy wives would wear something specific so our husbands could locate us while on the ship, waiting for it to dock."Huh. I didn't even think of that. That's pretty cool."I wore red pumps, in case you were wondering." Yeah, pink doesn't seem like you at all and black would be too hard to see from a distance, I guess.So, is the platform just, like, crowded with decked-out women stumbling about in really tall shoes, then? That could go from hot to hilarious pretty fast, I imagine. 🙂

  22. Laurie says:

    If I got a tattoo, it would probably be on my ankle, too. I know many non-trashy women with tattoos, and who can tell anything from just these shoes? She could be wearing a Chanel suit on the rest of her. Not likely in this particular circumstance, but she could be

  23. Kzinti says:

    All I know is that if that had been my wife deployed overseas for seven months, I'd probably be wearing those shoes… LOL

  24. Auds says:

    I really like that picture – pretty much for all the reasons you mentioned – I was thinking about the price tag even before I got to that part hehe.

  25. Yoj says:

    On the pier, when the ship is pulling in, yet still two hours away (you could see it in the horizon) the crowd would gather pretty thick. You saw it all- the trashy high heels, the pregnant belly, the Mom with four kids, all of us there. All of us crying. All of us waiting to get laid and then have a night off. Haha! The first time my ex came home, I had on the pumps. The second time, I was six months pregnant- wearing overalls and a rain jacket. He was still able to pick me out – but then again, we he deported, I just found out I was pregnant. Heh.

  26. Brown Suga' says:

    I don't care if my husband isn't in the military, if he comes home after a long spell that's how I'd greet him too. Hell, if I were to come home after ages, I'd like my hubby to dress up for me as well.
    And tattoos are not only sexy as hell, they reflect a person's identity. People have been wearing them for millennia. Trashy my foot! 😛

  27. I was a Navy wife. I hated it. I hated the homecomings. (Him coming home was good, but anything and everything that had to do with the military part of it was not.) I was not cut out to be a navy wife, so I guess it all worked out for the best. The first time my ex came home, I wore pink. The second time, I had our kid. The third time… ugh. And so on and so on… As far as the photo… love it. Sort of a vintage air to it. Plus, when women cross their legs like that when standing, it means they are self-conscious, nervous. Which is part of what a military wife or girlfriend feels when they are standing there, waiting, for what seems like forever.

  28. CrowSeer says:

    It is a great photo, although obviously the explanation and above anecdotes helps to put it in context.
    Leaving Feminism aside, I really never got the supposed sexual appeal of high-heels. They leave me totally cold… and look so precarious! I'm not suggesting that I don't fetishize, or objectify, of course… it's just that I was heavy into grunge and "Riot Grrrls" during my formative years, and have somehow come to sexualize trainers and jeans instead! And hoodies… mmmm…

  29. Kirk says:

    "Not likely in this particular circumstance, but she could be…" Funny you should mention that, Laurie. I guess there was an interview with Ms. Knilans about the whole thing in which we learn her dress didn't match the shoes (though her sunglasses did). But of course none of that matters; this photo is just awesome and that's that.

  30. Kirk says:

    That's what I love about you, Kzinti: you say what every guy is thingking, lol.

  31. Kirk says:

    "I was thinking about the price tag even before I got to that part hehe." A comment I read about it somewhere stated that the price sticker being on the shoe itself indicated they were probably cheap-o Payless shoes. I think it's pointless and mean to make that an issue as if only rich people want to look hot. But is it even necessarily true? Couldn't a pair of high-end heels windup with a price sticker on one of the shoes instead of on the box?

  32. Kirk says:

    Another vote for not trashy. See, I knew my peeps would agree with me! That lady who wrote the paper is just sadly misguided. Someone should buy her a nice pair of heels. 😛

  33. Kirk says:

    "The first time my ex came home, I wore pink. The second time, I had our kid…" How utterly interesting that you and J tell nearly the same story. I wonder how many navy wives have gone through that very same pattern."Plus, when women cross their legs like that when standing, it means they are self-conscious, nervous."It's cute, whatever the reason. Knowing it means she's nervous/anxious, well, that's even better. 🙂

  34. Jay says:

    I'd like to make a subtle point: there's a difference between trashy and tacky.The price tag and tattoo are a tad tacky.I can't deduce the trashiness of Mrs. Knilans based on this photo. But there's definitely a bit of tack in effect.

  35. Kirk says:

    Well, you've never really been one to follow the herd, have you, Dee? 🙂 Tank Girl would just look silly in shoes like this (although, I'm sure it's out there on the interwubs somewhere).

  36. Yoj says:

    I bet she had just purchased those shoes at last minute while at the NEX, which is probably why the price tag is still on them and her stance is that way.
    New stilleto's HURT!

  37. Rev Stan says:

    No one seems to have commented that maybe it had less to do with dressing up for her fella and more to do with an excuse to go shoe shopping…

  38. Jenni says:

    Love it. Just love it.
    With that little scorpion tattoo and the kinda funny, coy way she is standing. I have to admit that I noticed the price tags too, but I get why she needed to buy new pumps. I would've. And she probably went to the hairdresser on monday and changed her outfit 5 times that morning.
    And I bet my ass on it that he hasn't seen anything pink in a long while and will be begging her to come meet him in pink pumps next time around too.
    Go ms. Knilan!

  39. Jenni says:

    Oh, and Kirk.
    Last year I waited for 2 months for my guy to come home, and right now I'm counting down 6 weeks. All you guys really need to do, whatever your line of work or reason for this trip is, is come home.
    We miss you guys.

  40. tom says:

    I'm not into heels, really (I'd be seven feet tall (rimshot)), but this is a lovely picture. Even not knowing the backstory, I could appreciate the photo. The explanation makes it ten degrees more beautiful. Thanks for the post.

  41. Kirk says:

    "And I bet my ass on it that he hasn't seen anything pink in a long while and will be begging her to come meet him in pink pumps next time around too." Which likely she'd do, too, so long as she didn't end up as a part of the tradition J and gunderson bee above, lol.

  42. Toe-Knee says:

    Tell me this, though: what is the male equivalent? How can we guys present ourselves in the same hotness vein a Ms. Knilans? Our shoes look stupid. Must we wear neckties?

  43. RedScylla says:

    It's true–a clean house is a natural turn-on for women.

  44. Scio, Scio says:

    The Virginian-Pilot is my hometown paper. They actually had an exhibit of their photography at the Chrysler Museum here in Norfolk. I enjoyed it. The Pilot's one of those formerly great papers that is suffering a bit in this Internet age. They even printed a few of my letters to the editor, if that's any indication.
    I liked your perspective on this, as a married man who is a few months shy of his first anniversary. It got me thinking that I should perhaps take careful note of the small things my wife does for me.

  45. JohnnyK says:

    I know that there isn’t going to be anyone reading this since it’s a 7 year old post, but the truth is Candice is a liar and a cheat. I am her former husband who she came dressed up for and bought these shoes “specifically” for. I just wanted to get this off my chest. She was having an affair the second half of my deployment that was complete with a plan to leave me for him after I got back. She didn’t follow through but I was suspecting that something happened while I was gone because of the pictures I found of her on a Las Vegas trip that she never told me about wearing the shoes and dress that she had told me she bought the week before I came home. She only admitted to little bits but I recently found out the whole terrible story. She’s no hero, she’s no bad ass bitch, she’s not someone to look up to. I read all of the comments before and thought that everyone bashing her was ludicrous, but they were all right and everyone defending her is dead wrong. I think there is nothing wrong with getting dressed up like this for your loved who’s coming home after a long 7 months, and if there was a decent person in these shoes I would have no problem with it. She however is not a decent person. She is not a role model. She is one of those military wives you hear about who cheats on her husband and sits around jobless spending all of her husband’s money while he’s out busting his ass 14 hours a day 7 days a week. Yea I’m bitter.

Leave a Reply

