The Master Has Passed

I tried to write an adequate eulogy this morning and failed. I simply haven't the words. I would want my homage to delineate all all the laughter he inspired in his 71 years, all the great things he said and did, all the ideas he put into so many of our minds, all the forms of commentary he was capable of, and all the intelligence and conviction and courage he possessed.

Moreover, in tribute to his comic genius, I'd want it to be funny. But I'm simply too sad to even think about humor.

Goodbye, George Carlin.

And thanks.

[STORY]

Read and post comments

About kirkstarr

I draw pictures for a living.
This entry was posted in Can I Say Something? and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Master Has Passed

  1. jaypo says:

    He taught us so much about taking down barriers with humour and intelligence, a rare and universal gift, something every human being, esp. us 'Murricans, could relate to. Bless you, GC, you'll make 'em laugh up there too.

  2. I-Luv-Eeyore says:

    It is truly a sad day in the comedy world and the rest of the world as well.
    He was right on with so many things. He will be missed.

  3. Jay says:

    I know how you feel. I'm pretty bummed myself.I know George wasn't really much into religion or God or the afterlife, so really all I can say is that he'll be missed, and his contribution to comedy – and thought in general – will live on for a long time to come.

  4. DJ says:

    Kirk,Thanks for posting this. I don't have words either. -Dan

  5. grrrace says:

    i'm totally bummed. all i know is that i kept saying to myself that i'd go see him one day and i just never did. damn it.

  6. Xeyli says:

    This was NOT one of the first things I wanted to read this morning… I'm glad I was able to catch him when he was here. He will definitely be missed.

  7. tom says:

    I got to see him several years ago. I've laughed harder at a comedian's act, but never smarter.

  8. CrowSeer says:

    Just listened to Occupation: Foole (on vinyl) and it's still funny as [dirty word]… also, a great cover!
    Of course, like many people I probably first saw him in the Bill & Ted flicks, which I loved, and then came to know him as a stand-up. He's definitely one of the greats… and so prolific! Thankfully it's all on CD, and still in print, so the laughter will live on…

  9. Kzinti says:

    RIP George. <moment of silence>

  10. Street Vein says:

    He was the master… the ultimate street philosopher and social critic. I'd offer hope for the future of comedy, but Mr. Carlin would say "fuck hope."Thanks for this post. Rest his cynical bones.

  11. Red Pen says:

    I'll miss his whip-smart humor.

  12. SweetMisery says:

    Great Photo. He will be missed. One of the all time best.

  13. Scott says:

    He was the man. And I'm proud to report my kids have sat around listening to him for hours on end. (Narrating Thomas the Tank Engine, that is. 😉

Leave a Reply

