A Line in the Sand Called Iran

So I guess the newest idiot remark by John McCain that has the blogosphere pointing and laughing comes from his appearance today on Good Morning America:

DIANE SAWYER: Do you agree the situation in Afghanistan is precarious and urgent?

JOHN MCCAIN: Well, I think it's very serious. I think it's a serious situation.

SAWYER: Not precarious and urgent?

MCCAIN: Oh, I don't know exactly– run through the vocabulary. But it's a very serious situation. But there's [sic] a lot of things we need to do. We have a lot of work to do and I'm afraid that it's a very hard struggle, particularly given the situation on the Iraq/Pakistan border. And I would not announce that I'm going to attack Pakistan as Senator Obama did…

Now, I’ll agree the bolded section of the block quote appears at first glance to be a profoundly stupid statement. But all the harping about how Iraq and Pakistan don’t share a border is misguided and easily countered by right-wing apologists with the very valid assertion that live television allows very little room for error and McCain simply misspoke, saying “Iraq” when he meant “Iran”. Everywhere I look, that’s the repeated verbal volley.

But maybe everyone is so focused on the specifics of what McCain said that they’re missing the implication of his words. Maybe McCain didn’t misspeak at all, but rather uttered that sentence exactly as he had rehearsed it. His doddering persona may have fooled the masses into thinking he isn’t capable of clever innuendo – and he probably isn’t – but I can’t help but feel a twang of suspicion when I hear a presidential candidate known for joking about bombing Iran basically refer to that same area as just a border between the two countries on either side of it.

One last thing. Obama never said he would attack Pakistan – that's yet another lie made up by Dubya – but isn't it funny that McCain took that shot anyway, especially considering his afore-mentioned "Bomb Iran" guffaw?

I'm just sayin'.

Read and post comments

About kirkstarr

I draw pictures for a living.
This entry was posted in Can I Say Something? and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Line in the Sand Called Iran

  1. Josh says:

    I agree that the "doddering" old fool persona frequently given off by McCain is a ruse. He is an intelligent man and knows what he is doing. I for one, am a little concerned that he has a chance to make it to Pennsylvania Ave.

  2. Snowy says:

    Well he fooled me. He comes across as a doddering old fool to me.

  3. R.G. Ryan says:

    This almost leads me to believe that you don't think too highly of the presumptive Republican candidate for President of the United States. Could that be????? :-0

  4. Red Mosquito says:

    WAIT A MINUTE, I thought I knew my geography. I remember memorizing all of those nations back in school. Granted it was 20+ years ago, and some of the names have changed. But why didn't I realize that Iraq and Afghanistan don't share a border? Why with all the 9/11 talk and all the "links" didn't I, or really we (including the media), realize that it was all a lie. There's a whole country between them. Now I'm convinced that we'll be attacking Iran before 01/20/09. Maybe I'm just going over the deep-end and I've just had enough of BUSHco. Sorry for the the rant. Thanks for the map. I actually didn't believe it when I saw it. I had to look it up on wikipedia.

  5. bouche says:

    AND THEN I WAS ALL LIKE 'BUUUUUUH?????!" AND I WAS RIGHT!The problem is, people are still going to vote for him. 😦

  6. Don't forget that President Gerald Ford forgot about Poland being under Soviet domination when debating Governor Jimmy Carter in 1976… and the rest was history. Ford lost the election by the closest margin ever until the 2000 election. Keeping your facts straight under pressure when you are perceived as "old" matters.

  7. Toe-Knee says:

    Your speculation about the doddering part is really interesting, I think it's coached, but I can't for the life of me understand WHY… George W does all the same things, the same bad humor, the same miss statements, the same admission to ignorance… and he's been in power 8 years and despite his constant betrayals of his country he's still somehow in power and still wreaking havoc. Is there something I'm missing? Is there some successful strategy that I'm not seeing? I know that the GOP loves to proclaim anyone who's eloquent and composed as elitist and full of empty words… but surely being the exact opposite isn't a plan to win, is it?

Leave a Reply

