Brundle-Joker

The kids and I saw The Dark Knight yesterday and, as has already been proclaimed by everyone else on the planet, Heath Ledger’s performance was nothing short of phenomenal – flawless, even. Say whatever you want about method actors, but it cannot be denied that in cases like Ledger’s portrayal of Batman's arch-nemesis, the technique works.

As I sat enthralled by Ledger’s Joker, I noted a detail in the character that seemed terribly familiar. It took me a while to place it. But then, like a bat-fist in the face, it hit me: that unsettling thing the Joker does with his tongue is very similar to a facial tick employed by another great method actor, Jeff Goldblum, in his portrayal of a human-insect hybrid in the 1986 remake of The Fly.

I’m quick to mention that this similarity is not of the plagiaristic persuasion. This new Joker was carefully imbued with layer upon nuanced layer of creepy idiosyncrasies. Ledger likely incorporated countless influences into his masterful representation of DC's famous face-painted psychopath and he deserves lasting acclaim for his efforts.

I do wonder, though, if Goldblum noticed his influence in the film and if he was appropriately flattered.

Be sure to snag the Joker VOX banner I whipped up!

Read and post comments

About kirkstarr

I draw pictures for a living.
This entry was posted in Can I Say Something? and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Brundle-Joker

  1. SweetMisery says:

    look forward to seeing it. thanks for the banner. was the fill in person noticeable?

  2. Auds says:

    I'm glad you liked the part so much. Like everyone else, I was floored by it. It's really been one of the biggest pleasant surprises for me in movie going.

  3. Jenn says:

    I look forward to seeing this as well….

  4. grrrace says:

    loved the movie, loved heath. i was afraid that i was going to be disappointed like i usually am when a movie is HYPED UP. but i wasn't disappointed. i was totally blown away…

  5. I have to point out this blog to my son. Of all the things we discussed about this film- plot holes, Bale's "Batman" voice, etc. etc, Ledger's mannerisms' compared to Goldblums' did not come up. (Isn't JG another method actor?)
    On another note entirely, I loved the hair post! Great shot of you and Mom!

  6. Choccie says:

    The film was excellent.Thanks for the banner 🙂

  7. Kirk says:

    "did he kill himself? Ledger?" No, it wasn't suicide. I guess he was having trouble sleeping and was taking several different medications. According to Wiki, the medical examiner's report stated "We have concluded that the manner of death is accident, resulting from the abuse of prescription medications."

  8. MrsPeel says:

    thanks.I read about it when it first came out in the press, but didnt follow….shame, really, such talented guy…

Leave a Reply

