I Wish I Could Have Thanked Him Just Once More

I am in mourning this day.

 A dear friend of Karin’s and mine has passed away of complications from leukemia and diabetes. He was 55.

Chris was a private, no-bullshit kind of guy and so the best tribute I can think to give him is to just quickly share one thing I feel best characterizes why he was special to me.

Put simply, he was the man who presented me with the most wonderful gift I have ever received. He quite literally gave me my best friend in the world – my beloved German Shepherd, Marley. A pure-bred Alsatian from champion bloodlines commands a hefty asking price, but Chris unselfishly and unreservedly gifted him to me. Almost seven years later, Marley’s undying love and loyalty continue to provide me immeasurable happiness and security. And now they will also serve to remind me that while our bodies may perish, our acts of kindness and generosity persevere and the inspiration they provide is everlasting.

Read and post comments

About kirkstarr

I draw pictures for a living.
This entry was posted in Can I Say Something? and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to I Wish I Could Have Thanked Him Just Once More

  1. arbed says:

    Sorry to hear this, Kirk. All the best to you and Karin, as well as Chris's family.

  2. DKN says:

    Baroooo! I'm so sorry Kirk! (((((((((((HUGS))))))))))))

  3. Laurie says:

    Every time you love and pat and feed and play with Marley, you're thanking Chris. I'm sorry for your loss.

  4. jaypo says:

    Comfort and peace, Kirk. (((hugs)))

  5. ♥ Kelly says:

    So sorry for your loss.

  6. What a beautiful tribute. Comfort and peace from me too.

  7. northerngeek says:

    his memory will live on through your beloved companion…prayers go out to his family and friends
    [Nice Tribute]

  8. K. says:

    Gosh, it seems like a lot of people are losing loved ones these days.
    I'm sorry for your loss, Kirk. ::Hugs from your internet buddy::

  9. Kzinti says:

    I think that by you loving Marley unconditionally, you are justifying his choosing you as Marley's caregiver. So sorry for the loss of your friend.

  10. MrsPeel says:

    Sorry to hear, and a heartfelt sorry here.I have so many young people dying around me in the past couple of years,marvelous, fab people like your friend, unselfish, great people between their mid 40's and under 60….and I'm faced with Sarita's questions as to the unfairness of life…

  11. foxsydee says:

    I am sorry for your loss. May you find comfort in peace. ((((((hugs))))))))

  12. grrrace says:

    i am so sorry for your loss. 😦

  13. Brown Suga' says:

    I'm sorry, Kirk. Marley is a wonderful way to remember your friend by. ((hugs))

  14. Kirk says:

    A heartfelt THANK YOU to everyone for your condolences. I was starting to wonder if my recent lack of participation here at VOX had caused people to just stop coming by, but this wonderful outpouring reinforces my belief that I have the best VOX peeps ever.By the way, it turns out that Marley's mother and sister will end up in a shelter soon if they don't find homes. So, if anyone knows someone in the Seattle area who would be willing to adopt one (or possibly two) AKC-registered German Shepherds, please PM me straight away! I'm sure we can work out a cost-free adoption if you have a loving home to provide.Thanks again, everybody. I love you guys.

  15. tom says:

    You have great Vox neighbors, because you are a great Vox neighbor, Kirk: the best. I'm sorry you lost your friend, but glad that he will always be near at hand with Marley.I love German Shepherds. If I lived in Seattle, I'd happily adopt one. I hope they find good homes.

  16. IG says:

    I'm so sorry, Kirk. 😦

  17. Miz Blo says:

    so wish that I live there. I love dogs no matter what breed. May you and yours have happy thoughts in this sad time.

  18. JJ says:

    So so sorry for your loss.May he R.I.PI have a feeling I might be having a similar post on my blog soon.

  19. This is a sad story and I'm sorry for you and your friend. I am sure that he appreciates you remember him well. My thoughts are with you and your friend's family.

Leave a Reply

