Well, Wouldja Look at the Brain on THAT City?

This morning Amanda gleefully mentioned a 2006 study conducted by Central Connecticut State University that found my hometown of Seattle as the nation's most literate city.

It's a statistic to be proud of, sure, but for me it's mostly another reason not to feel bad about getting away with things like splitting an infinitive in that last sentence.

Read and post comments

About kirkstarr

I draw pictures for a living.
This entry was posted in Can I Say Something? and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Well, Wouldja Look at the Brain on THAT City?

  1. Lauri says:

    Congrats, Seattle!I wonder how they judge literacy, though.I'll split your infinitive and raise you a dangling participle.

  2. Josh says:

    We be smart plenty on side east of tennessee, too.

  3. Kirk says:

    "Congrats, Seattle!"In the interest of complete honesty, I should mention that we slipped to second place in the 2007 study behind Minneapolis."I wonder how they judge literacy, though." If you can accurately fill out the questionnaire, you're literate. :-P"I'll split your infinitive and raise you a dangling participle."Cripes, Lauri, that made me frantically re-read my post in search of a misplaced modifier. If anything, I was expecting someone to start something over the use of the word "bad" in the second sentence, mistaking it for an adverb and arguing it required an "ly" on the end. I'm glad I didn't have to put that smackdown on anyone. 😉

  4. Kirk says:

    "We be smart plenty on side east of tennessee, too." Yeah, Seattle probably just has a higher ratio of people with who prefer to read the back of the cereal box over watching Good Morning America. I was actually sort of surprised, considering how badly I hear the English language brutalized around here on a daily basis.

  5. Lauri says:

    Oh, I wasn't able to get that picky! I just liked the excuse to use the phrase "dangling participle"!!!
    It's a good one!
    I sure used to love diagraming sentences!

  6. Lauri says:

    PS, I posted a picture for you that I took in Boston. It's an octopus made of glass! 😀
    Here it is!

Leave a Reply

