The Reason There is Only One Snuffleupagus Left

The lifework of Jim Henson has always awed me, but with the notable exception of Grover – who is the unblemished embodiment of honesty, kindness, and sensitivity – I’ve never had much love for the cast of Sesame Street. Nevertheless, I got an unsettling feeling when I saw this cosplay image and it took me a while to figure out why.

For all intents and purposes, this is a wickedly clever costume. It’s original, well crafted, and ironic. It is savage temerity expertly cut with tongue-in-cheek satire. It’s uncomplicated. Versatile.

It’s also a bit creepy.

But the creepiness factor doesn’t come from the hunter’s prey being a cute children's TV show icon; that’s the whole damn joke. And Cookie Monster’s blood matching our own in color and consistency is highly unlikely, but not altogether perturbing. The unsettling thing, I finally realized, is that this crazy bitch is wearing the hide of a bipedal, English-speaking mammal.

Think about that for a moment. Even people who enjoy draping themselves in fur would have to admit there is something inherently morbid about wearing the skin of something that, prior to being pared and peeled, was capable of discussing the culinary benefits of butter over vegetable oil in Snickerdoodle recipes.

An anthropology professor I had in college once posited a theory that people normally feel inclined to modify the names of those food animals closest to them on the evolutionary scale. Her contention was that people have no problem referring to a salmon steak as “fish” because fish are so far removed from humans, but when it comes to mammals like cows and pigs, they change the names to  “beef” and “pork” as a way of distancing themselves from them. I suspect the affective impulse to which my professor was alluding is the very same as was stirred in me by this costume.

So I guess the obvious question is: Are her lips blue from devouring Cookie Monster meat?
Panda just pointed out that if Cookie Monster's blood is red, then eating him would stain the lips red, not blue. In other words, she just did to my punchline what the chick in the photo did to Cookie Monster…

Read and post comments

About kirkstarr

I draw pictures for a living.
This entry was posted in Can I Say Something? and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to The Reason There is Only One Snuffleupagus Left

  1. Lurkertype says:

    Hmph. Back in 1982, I saw a bunch of guys who dressed as SMURF HUNTERS. They were wildly cheered. For wearing bipedal English (and other language)-speaking HUMANOIDS who build houses and stuff.Oddly enough, that was a day after I met Jim Henson.Your prof was wrong — "beef", "pork", and "poultry" are remnants of the Norman invasion; the lords who ate the critters spoke French, the peasants who grew them spoke English "cow", "pig", "chicken".Also, yaaarrrr.

  2. AmyH says:

    I'm going to a "Muppets Gone Wild" Halloween party. This picture is not helpful in coming up with my costume. I'll skip this idea.
    In my house, any of the livestock that was named and considered a pet didn't ever come back to us in wax paper packages. We preferred to eat those animals to whom we weren't emotionally attached.
    Not sure if that counts toward your theory, but there ya go.

  3. Kirk says:

    Your prof was wrong — "beef", "pork", and "poultry" are remnants of the Norman invasion; the lords who ate the critters spoke French, the peasants who grew them spoke English "cow", "pig", "chicken". Well, she also vehemently defended the eating of dogs and cats as nothing more than a cultral difference, going so far as to insist that it was racist to take issue with the practice, so I'm actually happy to hear she was a clueless tool. 🙂

  4. Kirk says:

    "…the livestock that was named and considered a pet didn't ever come back to us in wax paper packages…"Oh holy crud, I hadn't even considered… maybe her tribe actually raises Cookie Monsters as food animals! Which makes me wonder if there actually are more Snuffleupagusses somewhere, too.

  5. AmyH says:

    But if you raised Cookie Monsters for food and profit, you wouldn't trot their heads out on a stick as if they were a vanquished enemy. This is definitely someone who hunted a Cookie Monster for sport.
    I'm really creeped out just by writing that. Eeeuw. Now I'm even more convinced that costume is wrong, so wrong.

  6. CrowSeer says:

    This photo just leaves me jonesing for a Lunachicks reunion… since they had a song about the Cookie Monster and also wore oddly-coloured lipstick. I think it also stands as a stark warning against getting between a woman and her cookies…

  7. kalita says:

    At first I thought the only weird thing was she looks like Eliza Dushku…although, hunting Cookie Monsters for sport is probably wrong.

  8. Kirk says:

    "This is definitely someone who hunted a Cookie Monster for sport." Ha! Would have been more accurate if Sarah Palin's head had been Phototshopped onto this image.Sorry. Couldn't resist.

  9. Kirk says:

    "…it also stands as a stark warning against getting between a woman and her cookies…"Particularly those containing chocolate, I imagine.By the way, Dee, did you happen to see this? Uploaded it just for you. 🙂

  10. dewitte says:

    If there were an episode of Bizarre Foods, I'm sure that Andrew guy would love a taste of Grover kidney or whatever else he could stir up.I suppose it isn't far off from Silence of the Lambs if you think about it.

  11. Toe-Knee says:

    Hm… I wonder how the furries feel about this girl? This is now giving me an idea for a silence of the lambs adaptation for an episode of Puppets Who Kill, involving Cookie Monster in a Pit (It rubs the lotion on it's skin…) heald there by a guy looking to make himself a "muppet suit". Tee hee…

  12. Laurie says:

    Puppets Who Kill will probably be lost on most of the neighborhood, but I know the show and think it's a great concept.
    I also rather like the costume in the photo. It gives me no cognitive dissonance whatsoever.

  13. Loved this and all the comments, but am I the only one who noticed the bloke standing behind her in such a strategic position?

  14. Budd says:

    I like your argument, but she is hot, so she wins.

  15. Street Vein says:

    LOVE IT. What a great costume!

  16. G says:

    With my sick mind i like to think she did something else to him before peeling him and wearing him 🙂
    She does look a little like tank girl (but hotter) and that one screws kangaroos before killing them 🙂 so it fits!

    It's ok, you can thank me later for the image I just put in your mind.

  17. G says:

    hahahah! Yeah…subliminal subtext… – fatties must die!

Leave a Reply

