Bobby!

I don’t know what it is. I just have this way of meeting famous people. I don’t go out of my way, either. The famous people come to me! I’ve met more sports figures than anything else including, but not limited to, Reggie Jackson, Joe Montana, and you already know about Edgar Martinez.

And then yesterday I made the acquaintance of Seattle Seahawks wide receiver Bobby Engram. Number 84. What a great guy! Seriously, it’s not just me who says so. It would be super easy for me to hate on dudes who make millions playing a beefed-up game of catch for a living if they weren’t always so damn gracious and friendly. Bobby's smile in the photo is not feigned and he happily gave me his autograph – not just for me, but for my friends as well! Makes you wonder why I look so underwhelmed doesn’t it? I’m pretty sure I was actually smiling up until the moment just before the picture was taken. Ah, well. I have to keep the photo if I want the autographs to have any validity to anyone but me.

Read and post comments

About kirkstarr

I draw pictures for a living.
This entry was posted in Can I Say Something? and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bobby!

  1. arbed says:

    Bobby's smile in the photo is not feigned and he happily gave me his autograph – not just for me, but for my friends as well! Makes you wonder why I look so underwhelmed doesn’t it? I’m pretty sure I was actually smiling up until the moment just before picture was taken
    haha, maybe you're the star who's tired of autographs and photos and he's the smitten fan!
    It's nice to see that there are "stars" out there who realize and appreciate the value of taking the time to do something like this.

  2. DKN says:

    Awesome! mmm…he is one fine brutha.

  3. Roboco says:

    he DOES look genuinely happy to be taking the photo and giving autographs! yay for meeting nice celebrities.
    you look like you were getting annoyed with the photographer for taking so long to snap. 🙂

  4. Brown Suga' says:

    Aye, he's quite a looker, that Bobby.BTW, is it me or are you growing younger? Did you lose weight or something?

  5. Kirk says:

    "Did you lose weight or something?" Yeah, a little. Thanks for noticing. 🙂 Every now and then I make certain life changes that cause me to drop pounds. It happened when I quit drinking alcohol some years ago and it's happened again now that I no longer down 20oz. mochas on a daily basis. I pretty much have to keep eating pizzas and cheeseburgers, though, or I might waste away to nothing.That said, I hate this picture of me the more I look at it. Bobby looks great, I agree, but me… not so much. Maybe I should flip every picture of myself so I always see what's in the mirror. Of course, then people who know me in person would be constantly telling me my photos don't look like me. Next thing you know, I'm blogging philosophical about how perception affects personal happiness and comparing the relative importance of one's own self-image to how one is perceived by others. Or something.

Leave a Reply

