Exercising Your Right to Exploit Others Can Make You Paranoid

I was out grabbing something for lunch at a local strip mall the other day when I spied the sign shown here in the window of an Advance America Cash Advance Center – one of those seedy joints specializing in exploiting the poor by offering two-week loans at interest rates that make Satan blush (and he enjoys plucking out peoples’ entrails and pouring molten lead in their ears, so, you know…)

I guess when your business model is shrewdly constructed on taking advantage of the desperate by placing them in a nigh-unbreakable payment loop, you’re bound to eventually start thinking every customer coming through the door wants to cut your thieving throat.

Interestingly, despite the high volume of cash exchanging hands and the industry’s insanely high profit margin, this particular loan-sharking establishment doesn’t utilize any kind of barrier between the tellers and the customers. No bulletproof window or wrought iron bars or even that glass with the chicken wire inside it. This pitiful sign must have been found an acceptable alternative at the upper management focus group.

That said, I suppose it is probably a good idea to note the faces of those you shamelessly screw over.

Read and post comments

About kirkstarr

I draw pictures for a living.
This entry was posted in Can I Say Something? and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Exercising Your Right to Exploit Others Can Make You Paranoid

  1. Toe-Knee says:

    Translation:For the sake of our self esteem

  2. Budd says:

    I was offered a job at one of these places and when they told me how much interest they charged and how people borrowed money from them to buy cars and homes, I couldn't accept the job. I don't know how these people sleep at night, but it is likely that they do so with one eye open.

  3. Kzinti says:

    I'd rather be a Fluffer…

  4. Kirk says:

    "I'd rather be a Fluffer…"I'ma get you a license plate frame for your car bearing those five words. 😛

  5. Kzinti says:

    Can I also get that with the gold chain bracket? LOL

  6. Kzinti says:

    And did I mention that I'm paranoid? But am I paranoid enough… Hmmm…

  7. Kirk says:

    OK, now all I can hear is that guy from the Fabulous Thunderbirds: "Fluff enough! Don't I fluff enough?"

  8. Lauri says:

    Well, that about says it all, doesn't it?*shaking head*

  9. Kzinti says:

    Do they still sell Fluffer-Nutter? That marshmallow/peanut butter sandwich spread? Of course, the name brings lots more ideas to mind…

  10. Masonicboom says:

    What a coincidence! There is one of those places near my house and occasionally I see a van parked out front that has the license plate "REPOLDY" This person is so evil they brag about it on their license plate! Repo Lady !! In front of Get Cash Now !! I tried to take a picture but we were in traffic and it was too much of a zoom for the camera. Wish you coulda seen it! As sick as it was, i've seen it at least twice now.

  11. Masonicboom says:

    And I didn't see the license plate posts before I posted that… stranger, (NOT- I know you're watching me)But………. Than what ???)this is your chance(i know u know the ans

  12. Masonicboom says:

    No, but you can get in in Golden rule.How you know where I live ??

  13. Masonicboom says:

    Colbert just released "BaconAisse" the Bacon Mayonaissesorry for that spelling.

  14. MrsPeel says:

    well, if the one in the US are anything like the ones in South London, they make enough money to pay huge guys who will put the fear of life in you if you even attempt to have a loud word….that s why they dont have chicken wire or barriers in the counters…

Leave a Reply

