Black Light Has An Evil Power

What day is it?

No, I mean what day of the month is it? Don’t even tell me we’re halfway through May already! Still a couple days yet, you say? Well, good. Hate to think I’ve missed so many weeks without getting the rest a coma provides.

Truth is I’ve been so buried in Duties Of Dire Import that any activity not directly affecting my personal security and well-being have become practically nonexistent.

I’ve flaked out on numerous social engagements.

I’ve barely even glanced in the direction of VOX.

I missed DG’s birthday, for crying out loud!!!*

I even failed to call my mom on Mother’s Day.

I’m probably blowing off some appointment right now. Feels like it, anyway. Karin’s birthday is still over a month away and our anniversary has already passed, so at least it’s not life-threatening.

Sadly, none of the stuff I’ve been doing lately is in any way interesting or humorous.

Don’t believe me? Fine. Don’t say I didn’t warn you. The best material I can recall from the past several weeks consists of:

1. The most annoying (and potentially dangerous) interruption to an overworked person with ADHD is the seemingly perpetual need to urinate.

2. When your medication goes generic, it instantly becomes impossible to find the brand name version and when you inform the pharmacist you don’t want the cheaper meds, he looks at you like you have a lactating nipple on your forehead.

3. The nostalgic inclination to fire up the old black light tube you found in storage is inversely proportional to the relative number of cats you have living with you.

4. As I’ve been compiling my notes for a book I’m writing on music theory applied to guitar**, I’ve come to realize my guitar method is sort of like the Jeet Kune Do of the six-string world. If a style or technique works for me, I incorporate it, regardless of its relationship to the rest of my system.

I’m hopeful things will slow down soon and I’ll be able to dedicate more time to VOX again. Karin will be effectively jobless in a few weeks which, ironically, will make things a tad easier (at least for a little while).

Well, lunch is over and I must get back to work. Hope everyone in my ‘hood is doing well and feeling loved. Have a great day, peeps!

*It could be successfully argued this one does, in fact, affect my personal well-being.
**Right, like we need another one of those.

About kirkstarr

I draw pictures for a living.
This entry was posted in The VOX Years and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Black Light Has An Evil Power

  1. jaypo says:

    Hi, Kurt!!!! I've wondered where you be! Glad you're ok and just been busy.

  2. Lurkertype says:

    Why, even I remembered deej's birthday… sort of… vaguely, maybe a day or two later, but certainly within the week!word on both the drugs and the black light. and if you have a kitteh who, let's say, had extensive problems in that area… even more so.great ad!

  3. Brown Suga' says:

    Nice to see you peep in!

  4. CrowSeer says:

    Good to hear from you again. 🙂
    But what does a black light tube do to cats? Does it make them evil(er)?

  5. Kzinti says:

    Hmmm… Two liter bottles or five gallon bucket eliminates the need for constant urination. Lactating nipples on your forehead have been known to cloud your vision. Being a flake is much better than a fruit or a nut. However, you are all in the cereal box.

  6. Lurkertype says:

    No, those stop the need to run to the men's room, but you still have to unzip/pee/zip.Kirk, have you at least been remembering to give our love to Deej, Edgar, Diblet, teh dawgs, etc?

  7. Kirk says:

    "word on both the drugs and the black light." That sentence is equally comfortable in context or standing alone. It's the Danny Elfman of sentences.

  8. Kirk says:

    "But what does a black light tube do to cats? Does it make them evil(er)?" In a sense. More accurately, it reveals just how evil they are by lighting up any surface ever touched by cat pee. Turn it on and see your home in a revolting new way.

  9. Kirk says:

    "However, you are all in the cereal box." That's why we all have to learn to get along. 🙂

  10. Kirk says:

    No, those stop the need to run to the men's room He failed to mention the surgical tubing…"Kirk, have you at least been remembering to give our love to Deej, Edgar, Diblet, teh dawgs, etc?"They do get all the love they can stand, but I don't always specify the contribution levels of individual sponsorships. I do sometimes do an impression of that fast-taking disclaimer guy as I rattle of a list of all DG's fans, but that's more to satisfy his ego than provide credit where it's due. Sorry. 😛

  11. Kirk says:

    jaypo and Brown Suga': It's always great to see you guys. I'm sincerely hoping to come visit you guys more often in the near future. Thanks for dropping by.

  12. CrowSeer says:

    Ew! Remind me never to lick your carpets.

  13. Budd says:

    That is great advertising, but I bet the night security guard doesn't get it.

  14. Kirk says:

    "That is great advertising, but I bet the night security guard doesn't get it." Ha ha ha ha! Awesome. I bet you're right.

  15. Kirk says:

    "Remind me never to lick your carpets." Indeed, it deftly put an end to that hard-broken habit. Problem is, how will I fill the void?

  16. Kirk says:

    "I been missing you, and I havent even been around Vox either…" Yeah, funny how much I miss interacting with people I've never actually met.It's rather off-putting to be away from VOX for such long stretches. I really do like popping off stupid quips and shouting my liberal opinions in everybody's faces. I need to find a way to make time for that again.Good to see you, Mrs. Peel. My best to your little family. 🙂

  17. On May 15th, I got an email from my pet insurance company, that said "Happy Birthday!" to my dog Parsley, who is now 3.*Um, wow. Thanks for letting me know, because I would have completely forgotten. Seriously. I turned around and said to my kid: "Hey, it's Parsley's Bday. She's 3 now!"(Imagine both of us looking down at her, lying between our spaces, belly up with the "llllooooovveeee meee please? I didn't pee on the kitchen floor, I prrrooooomiiiisseee……")He said something about how she's too old for digging the nasties out of the garbage and went back to his homework. [Meaning it was uneventful. Which is what I hope mine to be as well. 😉 Add that to my future book: Lessons to be learned from my dog.]

  18. Carlisa says:

    Just popping in to say "howdy". I hadn't seen any updates so thought you left vox. Life can be so demanding. Hugs to you and Karin

Leave a Reply

