Blast from the Past: 1985

I'm on a quick break, so I haven't much time. How 'bout a picture game with a bonus?

The game is "What's Wrong With This Picture?"

The bonus is the picture in question: a somewhat embarassing shot of yours truly, circa 1985. I was 18. I wanted to be a rock star so badly I could taste it. The guitar I'm playing is the first electric guitar I ever owned – a Washburn Force 2 – purchased by me in 1983 for $372. It was new, but without a case. (I wouldn't be able to afford the case for another year.) Even for a Washburn, that was a lot of scratch to throw down on a strat-copy, especially since it didn't have a whammy bar or even a bridge that could accept one. But I fell in love with it the first time I saw it and that never changed. The burgundy is stain, not paint, so the wood grain shows through and the machinehead is reminiscent of the Fender Telecaster's famous headstock. The guitar is with me to this day, though it was revamped in 1988 with DiMarzio Creme pickups by master luthier Mike Lull, guitar tech to the stars. He installed them for $25. I still have the receipt.

I recommend coming up with your answer to the game before reading the comments, because this isn't exactly a difficult puzzle and you guys are pretty smart.

What's Wrong With This Picture?
(Other than the lamentable nylon running shorts I'm sporting, I mean)

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About kirkstarr

I draw pictures for a living.
This entry was posted in Can I Say Something? and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Blast from the Past: 1985

  1. Kzinti says:

    Um, you are standing in the middle of the woods playing an electric guitar with no cord plugged into it? Or the fact that you look like you have a pine tree shoved up yer pooper in this photo?

  2. Kirk says:

    See, I knew it was going to be far too obvious that I failed to plug the thing in. My bandmate was all, "Let's take some photos! Play something!" I didn't even think about the fact that without plugging in, the photographs would be useless. And it's just not worth the Photoshop work to add the cord.Still, seeing this photoset again after so many years was really cool and perhaps a bit too nostalgic. I miss having hair on my head.

  3. Kirk says:

    "I didn't even think about the fact that without plugging in, the photographs would be useless." By the way, I couldn't possibly have known at the time that the shorts had already successfully ruined the pix before the first shot was snapped…

  4. snoringKatZ says:

    Yeah but you sounded GREAT!

  5. Toe-Knee says:

    Yeah… I don't think 1985 had wireless amps yet.

  6. brownamazon says:

    Dude, where's my amp? And did it go up to 11?

  7. CrowSeer says:

    This is very Zen… if Kirk plays an unplugged guitar in the middle of the woods, does it still make a sound?

  8. Austin1234 says:

    You're not wearing underwear?

  9. tom says:

    Washburn made some pretty good guitars back in the 1980's. A friend had their smaller-sized Explorer copy, and it wailed. Only problem was, after extended play, something in the finish they used caused ones hair to fall out. πŸ˜‰

  10. grrrace says:

    oh my! sorry. i couldn't get past the shorts!

  11. jaypo says:

    You're plugged in but the geetar isn't.

  12. that's so funny. I can't tell you how often I have to take photos of my kid's "band", in all their glory together and individually, "playing" their instruments.

  13. Jenn says:

    I'd have to say that I was stuck on the shorts as well….is there even a guitar in the picture? Trees, what trees?? hehe

    πŸ˜‰

  14. Kirk says:

    "A friend had their smaller-sized Explorer copy" I had one of those in red. It had really high frets, though, and I couldn't get used to it. I got it through a spur-of-the-moment trade, so I didn't get to pick the features. But here's the best part: I ended up trading it at a pawn shop for a thrashed SG-clone containing the very DiMarzios that now reside in the Force 2 pictured above. So that's how that came about.

  15. Kirk says:

    "Dude, where's my amp? And did it go up to 11?" My amp only goes to ten, but I was actually thinking about getting a set of these for the guitar. πŸ˜€

  16. Kirk says:

    "This is very Zen… if Kirk plays an unplugged guitar in the middle of the woods, does it still make a sound?" It's sound is identical to that of a one-handed spectator clapping.

  17. Kirk says:

    "You're not wearing underwear?" Hey, the shorts had a liner… whadda ya want from me?

  18. DKN says:

    Oh how funny! I think its kinda hawt!! πŸ™‚

  19. Cat says:

    Man I think the photo is GREAT!! Glad to see you're still around these parts!

  20. Marie says:

    Love the old photos!! I have to say though…you are much braver than I – mine are ALL under lock n' key..lol
    BTW…what were you playing here?."Smoke on the Water"…or was it "I'm too sexy for my amp" haha

  21. Austin1234 says:

    Phew, "a liner", I never thought, glad that's cleared up because quite frankly you would have never made it as an 80s rock star with out the package to back it up and all your dreams would have been for naught.

  22. Kirk says:

    "BTW…what were you playing here?.'Smoke on the Water'…or was it 'I'm too sexy for my amp' haha" When I was relaying the story to Karin, I believe I told her it was Eruption, but the more I think about it, it was probably just a minor pentatonic scale run.*turns to Tom and Kzinti, already knowing what they're thinking* Yes, guys, I actually made an effort to get through Eruption without a tremolo bar. I had some nerve.

  23. Kirk says:

    I wanna reply to everyone, honest, but I just have so much work to do still. I've got, like, less than two hours left to get a poster design out to proof and update a bunch of web graphics if I want to make deadline. And I do. So I'll come back to catch up with you all later, k?

  24. I-Luv-Eeyore says:

    Heh, I'm older than you. 😦
    I had a boyfriend that wore shorts like those—while horseback riding. I didn't always date boys that were very bright.
    btw: I studied the picture for a long time and couldn't find anything wrong with it. I'm suffering from serious blonde-ness today.

  25. IG says:

    My guess was the same as austin's. I owned the exact same shorts when I was that age and mine had no liner. πŸ˜›

  26. Nothing photoshop wouldn't fix – both the cord, and the shorts! πŸ˜›

  27. Brown Suga' says:

    An electric guitar without a cord? Niiice. LOL @ the shorts!I was born in 1985. OMG.

  28. Lauri says:

    It is hawt! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

