And Besides, That Photo-Hut Guy Is Creepy

As much as I love the instant gratification and privacy provided by my digital camera, the one thing that continues to irritate me about digital photography technology is the insane amount of time that elapses between when the shutter button is depressed and when the shutter finally decides to work its soul-stealing magic.

I’m sure you’ve all been there. You see something you desperately need to preserve in photograph form, so you whip out your digital camera, quickly frame the shot, and depress the button…

…but by the time your camera finally does its little preparation dance and captures the image, the moment you so badly wished to immortalize has passed and all you’re left with is another useless photo of a dirty restroom stall.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About kirkstarr

I draw pictures for a living.
This entry was posted in Can I Say Something? and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to And Besides, That Photo-Hut Guy Is Creepy

  1. snoringKatZ says:

    About a week ago, our digital camera decided that it didn't need an operational flash. Now that I'm looking for a replacement, you have just identified the biggest growl I have.Maybe I'll just figure out how to use my 35mm point-n-shoot that I didn't want.

  2. Kzinti says:

    Or that annoying delay to recharge the flash capacitor… Hey, that sounds like a flux capacitor. I wonder what it would do if I hooked it into a Delorean and ran it up to 88 MPH…

  3. snoringKatZ says:

    A camera with a Mr. Fusion – oh, yeeeeaaaahhh…

  4. jaypo says:

    Amen to that, kirk. Only I never end up with a photo of an empty bathroom stall. *snerk*

  5. Kirk says:

    "…you have just identified the biggest growl I have." Too many empty restroom stall pix?No? Oh, right, the slow capture rate. Well, I briefly had a bigger gripe regarding the proprietary nature of the Olympus XD card until I learned they're like that because they're specifically designed for digital photography. That put the "hurry up and shoot already" thing back on top.

  6. Kirk says:

    "Or that annoying delay to recharge the flash capacitor…" Yeah, but it's still a fat lot better than lugging around a Polaroid. The cost of the flash cubes was through the roof and the gunshot pop they made threatened to give the older folks heart attacks. Nothing worse than a family photo immortalizing grandma's death rictus.

  7. Kirk says:

    "Amen to that, kirk. Only I never end up with a photo of an empty bathroom stall. *snerk" No? Just me then. 😛

  8. jaypo says:

    It has to do with where you point and shoot. Hee!I was just looking at digital cams in the 2010 Consumer Reports Annual. They reviewed First Photo Lagtime and Second Shot Lagtime for all of them and none had "excellent" reviews. Only a few had "very good" in one category, but then fell short to "good" or "fair" in the other. None of them looked promising. Must be why serious photogs use 35mm…

  9. snoringKatZ says:

    I've got a pretty good shot of a squat toilet in Japan. It was empty at the time. In every possible way, mercifully.

  10. This is why I ended up selling my last camera. I liked the way it took photos much better than my current one, but if it was a wildlife photo, the critter would be long gone before that camera got to showing anything on the viewscreen.
    It's really not an issue with every compact digital camera. If you can afford a new one, I'd suggest you check out reviews with that criteria in mind, or just drop into a camera store and try out a few.

Leave a Reply

