To Automatically Resent Doctors Is Stupid

This isn’t a post about Health Care. The title is a phrase fitting the acronym T.A.R.D.I.S.

The thing about being a big ol’ nerdy Dr. Who fan is that the very nature of the protagonist is such that while it’s possible to admire him as a whole, one cannot necessarily afford to become too wholly attached to him. The reason is because Time Lords happen to live a ridiculously long time and in order to avoid spending the majority of that time as tottering prune-people, they do this crazy metamorphosis trick and just sort of randomly change into someone different (and presumably younger, although it has not always played out that way). Dr. Who’s gender remains the same whenever he does this, but the similarities between old Doctor and new Doctor often end there.

And, as you might guess, that can truly suck.

But not this time.

I was once of the school of thought that David Tennant was The Doctor to end all Doctors. He was it. No one could ever be The Doctor again because David Tennant was The Doctor. Period. End of discussion. I’m not kidding. This isn’t a debate. Shut up or I’ll slap you silly…

…and on and on like that.

And then this guy named Matt Smith came along and assumed the role. When I first heard it was going to happen, I just knew I was going to hate the hell out of the guy. Lousy upstart thinking he’s The Doctor. Ha! Anyone with a brain in their head knew we had finally found the real Dr. Who in David Tennant! Loser.

But… wait… I kind of like this new guy. He’s quite funny and still just as sharp. Hum. He seems to have retained some of his previous incarnation’s personality traits, as well. His hair is just frigging huge in the front but, oddly, it doesn’t bug me at all.

A couple episodes in and I can’t deny it any longer. I dig the new Doctor. There, I said it. Matt Smith is just fine in my book. Got his hands full with a metric butt-load of Weeping Angels right now, which is pretty damn scary, but in truth, I sort of feel sorry for the Angels. Well, not really, but you know what I mean.

Watch Dr. Who, peeps. It's a fat lot better than most of the dreck Hollywood is barfing up lately (provided you like intense science fiction and occasionally laughing your head off).

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About kirkstarr

I draw pictures for a living.
This entry was posted in Can I Say Something? and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to To Automatically Resent Doctors Is Stupid

  1. Karin says:

    After being so worried about whether I would like the new doctor (having been terribly disappointed when Tom Baker was replaced by a twit with a bad jacket and a worse haircut and attitude) it was such a relief to see Matt Smith. He is wonderful in the part. Equally wonderful is his new companion, Amy Pond. I love, Love, LOVE! that woman. Smart, sexy, cute, and brave. Karen Gillan is a keeper in this role for sure.

  2. Kirk says:

    Three comments right off the bat and I had to delete the other two because they were just lame-ass spammers. It's becoming a serious problem around here now, I'm afraid."Equally wonderful is his new companion, Amy Pond.
    I love, Love, LOVE! that woman. Smart, sexy, cute…"Yup. Did you happen to notice my tags for this post, babe? ;-P

  3. Despite the proximity of his eyes to each other I am beginning to love Matt.(I think his whole head is large.)

  4. Kirk says:

    "Despite the proximity of his eyes to each other…" Never noticed it before, but now I see what you mean. Just noticed his nose is a bit of a honker, too. Funny how these strange proportions don't add up to one fugly Doctor, huh?

  5. Sophie says:

    His hair is a thing of wonder. I approve 🙂 Never been much of a Doctor Who fan, but I watched a fair few featuring David Tennant, and all of this series so far…

  6. Kirk says:

    Hey, better late than never! 😀

  7. I cried when I heard that the Ten was leaving. I cried when I saw him leaving. I fretted when I saw the first image of Matt Smith. I knew it'd be okay when I saw the first preview though. It showed a scene with Eleven looking at a little girl (Amy! *squee*!) and told her to trust him, because "I'm the Doctor." My heart melted and I knew he could do it.

  8. grrrace says:

    I saw David Tennant at the last Comic-Con and I wanted to cry so much because he wasn't going to be the Doctor anymore… He was MY doctor.BUT, BUT, BUT… The new Doctor is definitely growing on me!!! He is DEFINITELY hard on the eyes… He looks like Frankenstein's monster. Seriously. Without the bolts in the neck. I read that he never watched any of the old doctors and that he's basically just channeling David Tennant (apparently, he studied those DVDs) and I approve of that. I think he'll probably make that role his own soon enough. And AMY. Love her. I wasn't sure about her when I saw the first images, but she is great. And tall. Whoa. I'm just glad that Doctor Who is still "must-see." Also, David Tennant's books on tape keep me from totally losing my mind. hehe. 😀

  9. Steve Betz says:

    I sort of miss Tom Baker. Though these days I really do rate the show by the attractiveness of his companion.

  10. Kirk says:

    "I sort of miss Tom Baker."Me, too. But then, he was the first Doctor I ever saw, so he has a special place for that reason alone, I'm sure.FWIW, I'd try to get Karin to knit me a scarf identical to Baker's, but she's already done that once for someone else and I'm not sure how to ask her to do it twice in her lifetime. Perhaps the best way is by making an oblique reference to said desire in a reply comment at my own blog. Maybe I'll try that… "Though these days I really do rate the show by the attractiveness of his companion."A good story is rather important to me, but I'd be lying if I said I'd faithfully watch a season with a hard-to-look-at companion popping in constantly."As for the spam… change your settings so that only neighbors' comments get auto-accepted and non-neighbors (and spammers) require your approval." Yeah, I need to get on that. *runs off to get on that*

  11. Kirk says:

    "I cried when I heard that the Ten was leaving."I remember. "I cried when I saw him leaving."I remember, that, too."I fretted when I saw the first image of Matt Smith…"…and by "fretted" you mean "became very bothered by the fact it wasn't David Tennant." :-P"I knew it'd be okay when I saw … Eleven looking at a little girl… [telling] her to trust him, because 'I'm the Doctor.' My heart melted…"I can see it now. You're sitting reading in a park when a guy — nothing particularly fantastic about him — walks up to you and, with a faint hint of Scottish in his voice, invokes his pickup line, "Trust me; I'm the Doctor."For the record, I'm not paying for any UK weddings. 😛

  12. Kirk says:

    "The new Doctor is… DEFINITELY hard on the eyes… He looks like Frankenstein's monster. Seriously. Without the bolts in the neck." Ouch. Tell us how you really feel, Grace. ;-)"I read that he never watched any of the old doctors and that he's
    basically just channeling David Tennant (apparently, he studied those
    DVDs) and I approve of that."As do I. It certainly shows, but as you said, he'll make it his own soon enough. He seems to be a decent actor which is, I suspect, the reason they hired him. You'd like to think they always get someone who has dreamed of being Dr. Who all their life, but that's probably hopelessly idealistic.

  13. Karin says:

    I would be more than happy to knit you a scarf with a few conditions:1. You must buy the yarn2. The yarn must be wool* (not acrylic)3. The yarn must be provided in time to knit the scarf during winter months as it gets very warm knitting with several feet of scarf draped around one's body and on one's lap.4. You must never shut the end of said completed scarf in a car door and then almost decapitate yourself on a bridge –such as the Morrison Bridge* in Portland, Or. and if you do try to decapitate yourself in such a manner do not try to blame me as the knitter of said scarf!5. You must make reasonable attempts at not letting moths eat finished scarf.6. If you grow tired of the scarf it must be returned promptly to the knitter.*If the first scarf I knitted had been in acrylic the grating on the Morrison Bridge would have been the end of my friend Rick and most likely me too as I was a passenger in the car at the time of said accident.

  14. Lurkertype says:

    My mother knitted a full scarf for my husband and a 3/4 sized one for me. She delivered them with the eyes of a combat vet and told us Never Again, not for our friends, and not for us. And she could knit in her sleep, literally. Strictly sweaters after that. Ours are acrylic, though, b/c of wool allergies.

  15. Xeyli says:

    [いいですね]

  16. Karin says:

    The good thing about acrylic is that the moths wont eat it. I repossessed the Dr. Who scarf from my friend because he had moved on to another show and I couldn't bear to see it eaten away to nothing after all knitting and re knitting I had to do.btw…the most recent picture on my blog is of teh Deej with his best dog friend, Tosh. Not the best since I took it with my cell phone but still pretty cute.

  17. Lurkertype says:

    A Who scarf is a terrible thing to waste. ❤ the Deej and Tosh pic! They transcend the medium.

Leave a Reply

