Surprises

Cripes, I can’t even manage to bang out one lousy post a month? If this blog had been born a cactus, it would be compost by now.

So, the first surprise is that Kirk got around to writing a blog post. Moving on…

I want to give a shout out to my pal YGRS, from whom a lovely, handmade Christmas Tree Ornament arrived yesterday. Thanks, YGRS, for sending us such a warm holiday surprise!

Handmade by YGRS

YGRS Originals

It should be noted that this is the second ornament YGRS has sent us over the years. The new one is on the left; the one on the right is from 2008. As you can see, she’s a crafty lady!

I got another Christmas surprise today, this time from my ever-thoughtful wife, Karin. Things are financially very tight for us right now, so holiday spending has been kept to an extreme minimum. Nevertheless, Karin managed to acquire a gift for me* the cost of which drastically belies it’s incredible value to me personally. That’s the amazing thing about sentimentality and nostalgia: they can render the simplest of baubles utterly priceless.

Forty-plus years ago, when I was a very little boy, my favorite possession was a Snoopy soap dish released by AVON cosmetics, circa 1966. I adored that back-floating beagle. It wasn’t just a bath toy to me; that soap dish got to see a lot more of the world than just a muggy bathroom.

I eventually lost it, of course, but over the years, the fond recollection of it would come back to me from time to time. One of those times I happened to mention the soap dish to Karin…

…and it turns out she’s has been searching for this thing ever since. Finding one in worthwhile condition was evidently no easy task, since AVON quit making them decades ago, but last week she finally located one in nigh-pristine condition on Etsy.

1966 AVON Snoopy Soap Dish

Snoopy Soap Dish

She got it for under $10, including shipping.That’s a ridiculously small price to pay for something that can repeatedly make you feel four years old all over again — take you back to when Saturdays were filled with cartoons, cereal boxes had prizes inside, and monsters were confined to books and movies.

Thank you thank you thank you to those who have purchased one or more of my assorted novelty items. It never ceases to amaze and delight me that there are people in the world who would voluntarily shell out their hard-earned cash just to wear one of my drawings on their chests.

An additional thanks to AMC, whose new hit series The Walking Dead is most likely responsible for the rise in sales of of my Zombies Were People, Too! t-shirts. Much appreciated, guys.

Last but not least, a catpile.

DG, Edgar and Diblet

Catpile

If you look closely, you’ll see that Edgar is in the midst of bathing his brother. Even better than that is he’s actually returning the favor.

I’m going to go find a place to display my new soap dish. Perhaps on the mantle next to the statue of The Thinker…

*Yes, we give stuff to each other the very moment it arrives. Neither one of us has the patience to wait for December 25th and we save a ton in wrapping paper and bows.

About kirkstarr

I draw pictures for a living.
This entry was posted in The Book of Deej, The Homefront and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Surprises

  1. Jaypo says:

    I was just beginning to think you were gone for gud. Several of ygrs happy, cheerful cards make me smile every day from my refridgerator door!

  2. Lurkertype says:

    I had that soap dish too and had forgotten about it till now. Now I remember the scent of the soap goo that would build up.

    Little Diblet on the bottom, OMG. He’s so big now, but that nose is still excessively pink.

    Hi Deej! (and Edgar)

    I was going to email you this weekend if you hadn’t posted, so… eh, I got nothing. Good to see you.

  3. Budd says:

    cool soapdish. My main zazzle store seller comes from idiocracy fans. go figure.

  4. lauowolf says:

    How heroic and wonderful of her!
    Am utterly impressed.

    And catpiles are always welcome.

  5. Drude says:

    Happy wintertimes and new years to you Kirk.
    Lovely loving catpile you got there and fantastic present from Karin and pretty ornaments from YGRS too!!
    I’m just popping by to say hi and now realize that wordpress has again been hiding my peeps’ posts from me.. (grumbles)
    Merry happiness to you and yours

  6. Drude says:

    Happy new year, Kirk!! I hope you and your whole fambly – both the furry and the less furry – are happy and healthy. Big big hugs, from me and purrs from Urracá

  7. kirkstarr says:

    Aw, thanks, Drude! I miss you all so much. Hopefully, this will be a better year and I’ll get back to doing what I enjoy instead of simply trying to survive day to day.

    I hope you had a great holiday. My love to you and yours!

  8. Drude says:

    haihai Kirk!!!
    how are you?.. I haven’t heard from you in like a YEAR!!! yeah we got a bit of DG news, through Lurkertype, I know, but how are you? I have finally been reading a bunch of Lovecraft to know what all this Cthulhu is really about. Not bad… I even had a nightmare and stuff ! I haven’t finished the first book yet though (must be that adult onset ADD… something to do with being too much on the interwebs I hear). – ‘My’ book shop had one set of three volumes with collected works of Lovecraft randomly on clearance sale for basically nothing – In English too (how random is that?). Then Lauowolf posted the youtube thing of “I saw mommy kissing Yog-Sothoth” for christmas (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KSvsy11PHxM)…
    So then I really started to feel the universe was pointing at a Kirk-shaped hole in the blobbosphere. 😦
    I hope all is good with you and the whole fambly and the furries. Me and Urracá (teh stripy cat) and Rusla (teh tortoise) are all well… a BIT cold-ish.. here in the Danish winter though… but that’s only natural..
    I wish for all the best of goodiness for you and your family in this fresh new year! (((hugs)))

  9. kirkstarr says:

    I’m pleased that Lauowolf is keeping the eldritch education going in my absence. That’s the sort of thing that is most likely to set the stars right for my eventual return to blogging. It might very well have the side-effect of beginning Cthulhu’s resurrection, but that’s a chance I’m willing to take. 😛

    And don’t worry about reading Lovecraft cover-to-cover. His stories aren’t everyone’s cup o’ tea. He wasn’t as poetic as Poe or as descriptive as Robert E Howard; his sole talent was putting a continual chill up the reader’s spine. The freebase of the horror genre, so to speak. A little dab’ll do ya.

    Everyone here is well but, like you, very cold. Snow finally arrived and I’m none too happy about it. Cold, wet, and slippery. Just try naming something good that meets those three requirements. Not easy, unless you like snow.

  10. Hi Kirk. I don’t know if you remember me – or if you still get the comments from this site – but HI!

    Someone created a group on Facebook for old Vox folks, and your name keeps coming up a lot because people miss you and wonder where you are and what you’ve been up to.

    If you’re still around – shoot me an email, would you? mandikayeottawayATgmail

  11. Drude says:

    Heyyy Just came by to say the same as Mandi… the peeps are missing you, and there’s a big reunion going on over at faceboob. The group is here: https://www.facebook.com/groups/667478276613241/
    if you want to come on over.
    I hope life is good and you all are happy and healthy
    – it’s been years now! we need proper updates!
    Hugs!

Leave a Reply

